Chihiro Yamanaka (山中千尋) – Monk Studies (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Chihiro Yamanaka (山中千尋) – Monk Studies (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 44:29 minutes | 977 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: Qobuz | Front cover | © Universal Music

Chihiro Yamanaka (山中千尋) is a Japanese jazz pianist and composer. “Monk Studies”, Chihiro Yamanaka’s new album, released by Blue Note label. The Japanese piano player reinterpretes famous Monk’s classics such as Misterioso, In Walked Bud, Ruby My Dear, Hackensack, and others.

Monk Studies is a calculated album of piano jazz. At ten tracks, there isn’t much wasted time, each track carries with it a unique quality but together, they work toward a greater purpose, making Monk Studies an enjoyably easy album to listen through in one siting. There are some more experimental and exciting moments as well, “Nobody Knows” has this sampled and looped vocal line that adds some juxtaposition to Yamanaka’s piano playing, it’s a little warbled and sounds like she’s playing right on top of an older record. I was expecting a metal guitar riff to burst out of “In Walked Bud” at any moment, sadly it never happened but its still great. Monk Studies ends with “Abide in Me” which is a gospel track lifted right out of Sunday church, but funneled through a greasy back entrance to some nightclub. Anyway if you like more traditional jazz music or a mixture of traditional piano with contemporary jazz touches.

01 – Heartbreak Hill
02 – Pannonica
03 – Nobody Knows
04 – New Days, New Ways
05 – In Walked Bud
06 – Rhythm-A-Ning
07 – Ruby, My Dear
08 – Criss Cross
09 – Hackensack
10 – Abide With Me

Chihiro Yamanaka – piano
Mark Kelley – double bass
Deantoni Parks – drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?