Colin Currie, Truls Mork, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, John Storgards – Rautavaara: Modificata, Towards the Horizon & Incantations (2012) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Einojuhani Rautavaara – Modificata, Towards the Horizon & Incantations – Colin Currie, Truls Mork, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, John Storgards (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:02:16  minutes | 1,06 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | | Booklet, Front cover | © Ondine Oy, Helsinki
Recordings: Helsinki, Finlandia Hall, 15.1.2011 (Incantations), Music Centre, 10.-12.8.2011
A 24-bit recording in dXd (digital eXtreme definition)

This new recording couples Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara’s latest concerto works with an orchestral piece from his early Modernist period (Modificata; 1957/2003)

The virtuoso Percussion Concerto Incantations (2008) features the Scottish percussion soloist Colin Currie, who is the dedicatee and première performer of this work. Currie wrote himself the virtuoso cadenza to the final movement.

Rautavaara’s Second Cello Concerto Towards the Horizon (2009) was written for cellist Truls Mørk and plays continuously in one 20-minute movement. Reviewing the premiere the Star Tribune noted that the composer “acknowledges a ‘taste for eternity’ and a vain of mysticsm runs through his work.”

Einojuhani Rautavaara is recognized as one of the most notable Finnish composers after Jean Sibelius. His recordings on Ondine have been bestsellers and garnered numerous awards (including a recent GRAMMY nomination for his opera Kaivos).

Under their chief conductor John Storgårds, the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra builds on long-time pedigrees of performing their compatriot’s music.

Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928)
Cello Concerto No. 2, “Towards the Horizon”
1. I. Theme – 00:04:06
2. II. Variations of the theme – 00:08:38
3. III. Finale 00:08:32
4. I. Praevariata 00:09:00
5. II. Meditatio 00:04:52
6. III. Affectio 00:03:24
Percussion Concerto, “Incantations”
7. I. Pesante 00:08:09
8. II. Espressivo 00:08:52
9. III. Animato (cadenza by C. Currie) 00:06:43

Colin Currie, percussion
Truls Mørk, cello
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra
John Storgårds, conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?