Collegium Vocale Gent & Philippe Herreweghe – Stravinsky: Threni & Requiem Canticles (2016) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Collegium Vocale Gent & Philippe Herreweghe – Stravinsky: Threni & Requiem Canticles (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 47:12 minutes | 812 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Booklet, Front Cover | © Phi

Threni (1957-58) is his longest, most ambitious and complex dodecaphonic score, and probably one of its summits. A work like the Requiem Canticles (1966) goes even further in this direction: the composer’s last masterpiece, it seems to summarise in itself the evolution of an entire lifetime, combining elements from the different stylistic periods that punctuated his career – whilst marking a highpoint in the spiritual quest that became increasingly important in Stravinsky’s life. In this major album, Philippe Herreweghe reveals with conviction his love for the composer’s music, and under his sure, inspired direction, the Collegium Vocale Gent and the Royal Flemish Philharmonic reveal their pure poetry. Music-loving friends, be curious!

“Requiem Canticles may be a wonderfully compressed… butThreni is an even greater masterpiece, which deserves a place among his finest achievements. Herreweghe’s superb performance leaves no doubt about that, and his singers and the Royal Flemish Philharmonic make light of the challenges in what is still a fearsomely difficult score to perform.” (The Guardian)

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
1 Anthem, The dove descending breaks the air 02:56
2 Incipit 00:51
3 De elegia prima 06:48
4 De elegia tertia: Querimonia 06:55
5 De elegia tertia: Sensus Spei 06:36
6 De elegia tertia: Solacium 03:23
7 De elegia quinta: Oratio Jeremiae Prophetae 03:18
8 Prelude 01:11
9E xaudi 01:43
10 Dies irae 00:56
11 Tuba mirum 01:06
12 Interlude 02:30
13 Rex tremendae 01:11
14 Lacrimosa 01:46
15 Libera me 00:54
16 Postlude 01:54
17 3 Sacrae cantiones: No. 1. Da pacem, Domine (arr. I. Stravinsky for choir) 03:20

Christina landshamer, soprano
Ewa Wolak, alto
Maximilian Schmitt, tenor
Magnus Staveland, tenor
Florian Boesch, bass
David Soar, bass
Collegium Vocale Gent
Royal Flemish Philharmonic
Philippe Herreweghe, conductor