David Hazeltine Trio – Alice In Wonderland (2004) [Japan 2014] {SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz}

David Hazeltine Trio – Alice In Wonderland (2004) [Japan 2014]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 55:56 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,27 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,11 GB
Genre: Jazz

David Hazeltine, in the tradition of Parker, works within and across the constrains of bebop, and arcs toward the aesthetic of consonance rather than dissonance: reaching toward beauty in harmony, melody, rhythm and never straying too deeply from his roots. He is particularly influenced by Parker, Rollins, Bud Powell and early Miles Davis. Although seemingly hard-line about the tradition, Hazeltine has done an impressive amount of innovation and is a gifted arranger and composer. On this, Japan only release, Hazeltine is joined by George Mraz on bass and Billy Drummond on drums.

Today a major pianist in the New York and Japan scenes, David Hazeltine has been playing gigs since he was thirteen. He did not seriously consider going into music until right before college. Once he entered into the jazz world he was encouraged by Chet Baker who told him to go to New York. He has played and recorded with Jon Hendricks, Louis Hayes, and One for All. Although he is a pianist he feels more influenced by saxophonists, particularly Charlie Parker.

David Hazeltine evidently salutes pianist Bill Evans on this Venus release, as eight of the nine songs were recorded by Evans for Riverside and the late pianist’s influence is definitely a part of Hazeltine’s style (though the Japanese liner notes make it difficult to confirm for sure). Accompanied by two sympathetic musicians, bassist George Mraz and drummer Billy Drummond, Hazeltine’s interpretations of standards like “Beautiful Love,” “Alice in Wonderland” and “When You Wish Upon a Star” are lyrical and to the point. The lively setting of “How Deep Is the Ocean” and loping treatment of “Tenderly” also merit praise. Hazeltine’s sole composition is “For Bill”, a fluid piece that is also reminiscent of Bill Evans’ approach to the piano and writing. Summary is a beautifully recorded album!

01. Beautiful Love
02. Sweet & Lovely
03. Alice In Wonderland
04. Autumn Leaves
05. When You Wish Upon A Star
06. For Bill
07. How Deep Is The Ocean
08. Danny Boy
09. Tenderly

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by James Farber.
Recorded at Avatar Studio in New York on July 21-22, 2003.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-35.

David Hazeltine – piano
George Mraz – bass
Billy Drummond – drums



FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz


We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?