Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong – Ella And Louis Again (1957/2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong – Ella And Louis Again (1957/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz  | Time – 00:44:23 minutes | 1,79 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Verve Records
Recorded: July 23, July 31 and August 13, 1957 in Los Angeles

Ella And Louis Again (1957) is a follow-up album to Ella and Louis (1956). Featuring duets as well as solo numbers, the album was recorded on July 23, 31, and August 13 of 1957 in Los Angeles and was produced by Norman Granz.

In 1957 Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong teamed up for their second album of popular tunes drawn mostly from the Great American Songbook. Produced by the legendary Norman Granz, the album features an all-star group of musicians including Armstrong on vocals and trumpet, Oscar Peterson on piano, Herb Ellis on guitar, Ray Brown on bass and Louie Bellson on drums.

“… captures some of the finest vocal work of the past century … a highlight of the 1950s, a busy time for classic vocal jazz records … both were in fine form, Fitzgerald’s sweetly melodic voice contrasting nicely with Armstrong’s coarse rasp … Fitzgerald and Armstrong sound positively ebullient together … Autumn In New York may be the best thing the two ever recorded, a beautifully tender reading with a nice trumpet solo to boot.” -All About Jazz

Recorded in 1957, Ella & Louis Again re-teams Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong after the success of their first album and a popular series of concerts at the Hollywood Bowl the previous year. Stylistically, Fitzgerald and Armstrong had very different histories; he started out in Dixieland before branching out into classic jazz and swing, whereas Fitzgerald started out as a swing-oriented big-band vocalist before becoming an expert bebopper. But the two of them have no problem finding common ground on Ella & Louis Again, which is primarily a collection of vocal duets (with the backing of a solid rhythm section led by pianist Oscar Peterson). One could nitpick about the fact that Satchmo doesn’t take more trumpet solos, but the artists have such a strong rapport as vocalists that the trumpet shortage is only a minor point. Seven selections find either Fitzgerald or Armstrong singing without the other, although they’re together more often than not on this fine set. -AllMusic Review by Alex Henderson

1 Don’t Be That Way 5:01
2 Makin’ Whoopee 3:59
3 They All Laughed 3:50
4 Comes Love 2:28
5 Autumn In New York 6:00
6 Let’s Do It (Let’s Fall In Love) 8:44
7 Stompin’ At The Savoy 5:16
8 I Won’t Dance 4:47
9 Gee, Baby, Ain’t I Good To You? 4:11

Louis Armstrong – vocals, and trumpet on tracks 5, 7, 9, 13, 17 and 19.
Ella Fitzgerald – vocals
Ray Brown – double bass
Herb Ellis – guitar
Oscar Peterson – piano
Louie Bellson – drums