Emerson, Lake & Palmer – Works, Volume 2 (1977) {Deluxe Edition 2017} [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Emerson, Lake & Palmer – Works, Volume 2 (1977) {Deluxe Edition 2017}
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 2:11:55 minutes | 2,5 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © BMG Rights Management (UK) Ltd.

Formed in 1970, Emerson, Lake & Palmer were torchbearers of the progressive rock sound and one of rock’s first super-groups. The world-conquering, stadium-filling prog giants helped to broaden the audience for the genre from hundreds of thousands into tens of millions and were one the most commercially successful rock bands of the 1970s. Their first 7 album releases all made the U.K. albums chart top 10 and U.S. top 20. Works Volume 2 is ELP’s sixth studio album, originally released as a single LP in 1977, which seemingly was a compilation of leftover tracks from other album sessions that had not made those albums. Now this album was expertly remastered for the first time in 24 bit / High Definition formats from the original tapes. This Deluxe Edition expanded with the Live bonus tracks recorded on August 26, 1977 & previouly released in 1979 as “Works Live”.

After the rather dull Works, Vol. 1, the highly underrated Works, Vol. 2 is a godsend. Works, Vol. 1 took their pompous, bombastic, keyboard-driven prog rock epics to the limit; had it been stripped of its excesses and coupled with the strongest cuts from Works, Vol. 2, the band may have had an enormous success with critics and fans alike. Volume 2’s brief, eclectic compositions cover an array of musical styles, combining stimulating originals and handsomely orchestrated renditions of “Maple Leaf Rag,” “Honky Tonk Train Blues,” and “Show Me the Way to Go Home.” Lake peppers the tunes with guitar and bass flourishes, resulting in some of his most challenging instrumental work, and both he and Palmer deliver incredibly strong performances. Meanwhile,Peter Sinfield contributes some of his most mature and accomplished lyrics. Emerson’s work is solid and creative, but sounds a bit dated, which is part of why the band couldn’t endure. Unlike some ELP albums, Volume 2’s brief pieces sustain interest; there really isn’t a weak tune in the set. The five instrumentals are highlighted by two short prog rock tunes, including the jazzy “Bullfrog,” which features Lake’s brief jazz bass solo and Palmer’s fluid, versatile drumming. “Barrelhouse Shake-down” and “Maple Leaf Rag” showcase Emerson’s superb ragtime and barrelhouse piano playing, and Palmer’s jazz fusion/marching band piece, “Close But Not Touching,” features horns and Lake’s psychedelic electric guitar lines. The vocal pieces are equally interesting. “Brain Salad Surgery” is progressive jazz-rock that bears some resemblance to King Crimson’s “Cat Food,” unsurprising since each features Lake singing Sinfield’s lyrics. And, of course, there is the hit “I Believe in Father Christmas,” a beautiful Lake/Sinfield composition that highlights Lake’s strong voice and vibrant acoustic guitar.

01 – Tiger in a Spotlight
02 – When the Apple Blossoms Bloom in the Windmills of Your Mind I’ll Be Your Valentine
03 – Bullfrog
04 – Brain Salad Surgery
05 – Barrelhouse Shake-Down
06 – Watching Over You
07 – So Far to Fall
08 – Maple Leaf Rag
09 – I Believe in Father Christmas
10 – Close but Not Touching
11 – Honky Tonk Train Blues
12 – Show Me the Way to Go Home
13 – Introductory Fanfare (Live)
14 – Peter Gunn (Live)
15 – Tiger in a Spotlight (Live)
16 – C’est la Vie (Live)
17 – Watching Over You (Live)
18 – Maple Leaf Rag (Live)
19 – The Enemy God Dances With the Black Spirits (Live)
20 – Fanfare for the Common Man (Live)
21 – Knife Edge (Live)
22 – Show Me the Way to Go Home (Live)
23 – Abaddon’s Bolero (Live)
24 – Pictures At an Exhibition: I. Promenade / II. The Gnome / III. Promenade / IV. The Hut of Baba Yaga /
/ V. The Curse of Baba Yaga / VI. The Hut of Baba Yaga / VII. The Great Gates of Kiev (Live)
25 – Closer to Believing (Live)
26 – Piano Concerto, Third Movement: Toccata con Fuoco (Live)
27 – Tank (Live)

Remastered in 2017.



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?