Gorillaz – D-Sides (2007/2014/2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Gorillaz – D-Sides (2007/2014/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 1:57:19 minutes | 1,25 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Parlophone UK

D-Sides is a 2007 compilation album by the British virtual band Gorillaz. The album contains B-sides and remixes from singles and bonus tracks for the band’s second studio album Demon Days, as well as previously unreleased tracks recorded during the same sessions. D-Sides performed similarly to its 2002 predecessor, G Sides, reaching #63 on the UK Albums Chart, while it reached #166 on the US Billboard 200 chart.

The Gorillaz B-sides and remixes collection D-Sides just emphasizes that Demon Days could have just as easily been called Damon Days. Even though Damon Albarn worked with collaborators like Danger Mouse on the second Gorillaz album, Albarn was its main sonic architect, and this is made even clearer by the songs that didn’t make it onto Demon Days. Where the album honed a paranoid, melancholy – but always accessible – vibe, D-Sides is charmingly loose and eclectic; the stoned, rag-tag shuffle of “Don’t Get Lost in Heaven (Demo)” is far more engaging, or at least immediate, than the choir and strings-bedecked version that appeared on Demon Days. The layered, doo wop-inspired harmonies and pianos on “Highway (Under Construction)” bear the marks of fiddling around in the studio, but appealingly so – and that goes double for the new wave/electro ramble “Rockit,” on which Albarn makes “blah blah blah” sound almost profound. D-Sides finds him working in styles he couldn’t fit on the album (although “Spitting Out the Demons”‘ dubby gloom comes the closest to Demon Days’ final cut): “68 State”‘s moody synth noodling could soundtrack an anime dystopia; “Hongkongaton” fuses dub and music hall; and “People” could be the mutant offspring of Britpop and synth pop. While many of D-Sides’ tracks are sketches, the full-fledged songs are just as good as what ultimately appeared on Demon Days. “The Swagga,” er, swaggers from retro-futuristic pop to messy, freewheeling rock, fulfilling the promise of rowdy snippets like “Murdoc Is God.” Albarn also finds room for some surprisingly vulnerable moments; “Hong Kong,” with its strings and shamisen, feels like a distant cousin of The Great Escape’s “Yuko and Hiro,” and “Stop the Dams” closes D-Sides’ first disc on a quiet, heartfelt note. For longtime Albarn fans, this part of the collection is a lot of fun – a trip through his scraps and oddities is still more rewarding than many other artists’ magnum opuses.
D-Sides’ remix disc is, somewhat surprisingly, more focused than the actual Gorillaz B-sides are. It’s no surprise that Albarn has gathered an on-point cast of remixers, including Metronomy, Hot Chip, and the DFA, who begin the disc with its best track, a belligerent, percussive version of “Dare” that strips the song down to little more than Shaun Ryder’s voice, percussion, and the odd buzzing synth. “Dare” inspired two of the disc’s other standouts, a remix by Junior Sanchez and one by Soulwax. While not all of the remixes hit these heights, overall it’s a fun set, and a good complement to the eclecticism of D-Sides’ first disc.

01 – 68 State
02 – People
03 – Hongkongaton
04 – We Are Happy Landfill
05 – Hong Kong
06 – Highway (Under Construction)
07 – Rockit
08 – Bill Murray
09 – The Swagga
10 – Murdoc Is God
11 – Spitting Out The Demons
12 – Don’t Get Lost In Heaven (Original Demo Version)
13 – Stop The Dams
14 – DARE (DFA Remix)
15 – Feel Good Inc (Stanton Warriors Remix)
16 – Kids With Guns (Jamie T’s Turns To Monsters Mix)
17 – DARE (Soulwax Remix)
18 – Kids With Guns (Hot Chip Remix)
19 – El Mañana (Metronomy Remix)
20 – DARE (Junior Sanchez Remix)
21 – Dirty Harry (Schtung Chinese New Year Remix)
22 – Kids With Guns (Quiet Village Remix)



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?