Mariinsky Orchestra, Valery Gergiev – Wagner: Das Rheingold (2013) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mariinsky Orchestra, Valery Gergiev – Wagner: Das Rheingold (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 2:27:24  minutes | 2.6 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Booklet & Front cover | © Mariinsky

In September 2013 the Mariinsky label releases the highly anticipated second installment of Richard Wagner’s Der Ring des Nibelungen conducted by Valery Gergiev. Recorded in the sumptuous acoustic of the Mariinsky Concert Hall, Das Rheingold is led by René Pape in the role of Wotan. Pape is ably supported by an international Wagnerian cast, and ‘Gergiev’s absolute mastery of this orchestra,’ (Wagner News) is in evidence once again in a tremendously dramatic performance. Siegfried and Götterdämmerung will complete the cycle in 2014.

Der Ring des Nibelungen was the pinnacle of Richard Wagner’s long and turbulent career and without question one of the greatest achievements in opera. Wagner wanted to create the perfect synthesis of music and drama and assumed total creative control of the project which was to take him 26 years to complete, with frequent interruptions. He introduced numerous innovations, not least the sheer scale of the project – typically a complete performance will last in excess of 15 hours, spread over four evening. No other opera matches the scale or ambition of the Ring.

The Mariinsky Theatre has close connections with Wagner and his music. The composer conducted at the theatre and was even offered the post of Music Director. It is also believed to be the first place where any of the music from the Ring was performed. Since Valery Gergiev became Music Director of the Mariinsky, Wagner’s music has once again become a core part of the theatre’s repertoire, both in St Petersburg and on tour.

“[Gergiev] draws plenty of vivid drama and glowing color from the Mariinsky players, particularly the uniquely silken but powerful brass…Mikhail Petrenko and Evgeny Nikitin [make a] rich-voiced pair of giants, a splendid characterisation…the women…are really impressive. Stephan Rugamer shows how much a truly lyrical Loge can make of his music.”  – BBC Music Magazine

“[Pape’s] superbly well-sung performance is far from monotonously dignified…there are no weak links in this cast: Fricka, Loge, Fasolt and Fafner are all as good as any of the recently recorded rivals you might care to name…the uniquely euphoric spirit of The Ring’s prelude emerges with irresistible conviction as the compelling drama unfolds.” – Gramophone Magazine

“[Pape] is a singer in the Wagnerian lyric bass mode rather than the more conventional heroic bass-baritone. Even so, he has no difficulty with the high notes. His pointing of the text often pays the casting of the two giants the Mariinsky does not disappoint…Markov is a magnificent Donner, sending out his challenge to the thunder in ringing tones.”  – MusicWeb International

“Gergiev conducts a swift reading in this performance – this Rhine is in full flood…Pape’s Wotan is pretty magisterial…Gubanova is a solid Fricka, sounding younger and less hectoring than many…The Rhinemaidens are forthright, almost cheerful; Ekaterina Sergeeva’s even mezzo is particularly attractive as Flosshilde.”  – Opera Now


Richard Wagner (1813-1883)

Das Rheingold (The Rhine Gold) WWV 86a

Scene One
01 I Prelude 3:55
02 II Weia! Waft your waves, ye waters! 2:31
03 III Loathsomely smooth slithery slime! 5:26
04 IV Wallala! Lalaleia! 2:37
05 V Look, sisters! 6:25
06 VI The world’s wealth could I win myself through you? 5:39

Scene Two
07 I Wotan, husband! Awake! 9:28
08 II Gently you closed your eyes in sleep 7:57
09 III To me, Freia! Let her be, rascal 5:59
10 IV In vain I searched, and now see full well 6:50
11 V A magic spell turns the gold into a ring 3:20
12 VI Hear, Wotan, what we have at last to say! 2:35
13 VII On what does Wotan brood so darkly? 4:51
14 VIII Come, Loge, come down with me! 4:48

Scene Three
15 I See, you scroundrel! 2:44
16 II Here is Nibelheim: through the pale mist 4:29
17 III Beware! 7:41
18 IV Enough, blasphemous fool! – What did he say? 4:48
19 V Oh! Oh! Ha ha ha! Terrible serpent 6:00

Scene Four
20 I Sit tight there, kinsman! 4:45
21 II I have paid: now let me depart 5:53
22 III Am I free now? Truly free? 3:45
23 IV From afar Fasolt and Fafner are approaching 5:06
24 V These poles we’ve planted 6:10
25 VI Yield, Wotan, yield! 5:39
26 VII Listen, you giants! Come back and wait 6:49
27 VIII A sultry haze hangs in the air 4:14
28 IX The sun’s eye sheds its evening beams 4:06
29 X Rhinegold! Rhinegold! Purest gold! 3:12

René Pape (Wotan)
Nikolai Putilin (Alberich)
Stephan Rügamer (Loge)
Ekaterina Gubanova (Fricka)
Viktoria Yastrebova (Freia)
Zlata Bulycheva (Erda)
Andrei Popov (Mime)
Evgeny Nikitin (Fafner)
Mikhail Petrenko (Fafner)
Sergei Semishkur (Froh)
Alexei Markov (Donner)
Zhanna Dombrovskaya (Woglinde)
Irina Vasilieva (Wellgunde)
Ekaterina Sergeeva (Flosshilde)
Mariinsky Orchestra
Valéry Gergiev, conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?