Mavis Staples – If All I Was Was Black (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mavis Staples – If All I Was Was Black (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 34:33 minutes | 723 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Anti – Epitaph

Ten years after signing with the ANTI label, Mavis Staples pursues her impressive resurrection. Still joined by Jeff Tweedy, the great soul gospel priestess even hands him the wheel in this If All I Was Black, for which the band leader of Wilco has penned all the songs. After We’ll Never Turn Back produced in 2007 by Ry Cooder, You Are Not Alone in 2010, One True Vine in 2013 and Livin’ On A High Note in 2016 (on which she asked Nick Cave, Ben Harper, Justin Vernon a.k.a. Bon Iver, The Head & The Heart, tUnE-yArds, Neko Case, Aloe Blacc, Son Little, Valerie June and M Ward to participate), Pops Staples’ daughter inhabits each composition and her voice tames the lyrics of songs that couldn’t be more politically motivated. A major figure of the Civil Right Movement, a regular of great causes and militancy in songs, this lady masters these anti-Trump pieces with her usual class, with strong yet subtle criticisms—that are never Manichean nor childish—of an American in full regression. Above all, the blend of gospel inwardness, soul power and rhythm ‘n’ blues groove that she offers perfectly combines with Tweedy’s rustic and ‘no added sugars’ production. A great soul disc!

1. Little Bit
2. If All I Was Was Black
3. Who Told You That
4. Ain’t No Doubt About It (feat. Jeff Tweedy)
5. Peaceful Dream
6. No Time for Crying
7. Build a Bridge
8. We Go High
9. Try Harder
10. All Over Agai



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?