Mike Zito – Make Blues Not War (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Mike Zito – Make Blues Not War (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 53:38 minutes | 634 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © 2016 Ruf Records GmbH

Released in 2016, Make Blues Not War is Mike Zito’s second album since leaving the mighty Royal Southern Brotherhood and his 13th overall, perhaps his most energetic to date. Modern life moves fast: rolling news, rapid-fire tweets, a relentless barrage of (mis)information. Make Blues Not War demands you sign out, log off and turn yourself over instead to the old fashioned pleasures of great music.

St. Louis guitarist Mike Zito has made several acclaimed albums with his tight road band “The Wheel,” which run the gamut of rocking blues, honky tonk, boogie, introspective singer-songwriter, and good old rock & roll. For his latest effort ‘Make Blues Not War,’ set for a November 2016 release, Zito paired up with Nashville ace producer and drummer Tom Hambridge and his crew at Sound Stage Studios to make a straight ahead Blues Rock record and get the full music city star treatment. Without the burden of sharing the spotlight with his sidemen Zito has built a very guitar centric album full of tasty fret work.

The 11 new tunes kick off with a classic low down blues “Bad News Is Comin’,” a tale of hard times and regret with Zito preaching the blues with his pleading vocals and ripping leads over mournful piano and Hammond B3 underpinnings. “Chip Off The Block,” was written about his oldest son, Zach Zito, who is the featured guitarist on this fun loving father and son celebration, and superb introduction of the next generation blues man. The frantic six-string showboating and hyper drive boogie beat of “Crazy Legs,” could have been lifted from the Jeff Beck Group catalog. Zito’s vaunted slide playing sweetens up the punch-drunk love song “Girl Back Home.” Zito delivers the bump and grind on the greasy title track “Make Blues Not War,” making a sly political statement “That the Blues is good for you,” veiled in a plea to a lover sent out to a troubled world. He gives us quite a collection of traveling songs beginning with the southern rock boogie ‘One More Train To Ride,’ then a clavinet infused funk burner with “On The Road,” a slow grooving portrait of an apologetic working man “Road Dog,” and the glorious barrelhouse road map stomper “Route 90.” Songs of the road are certainly in Zito’s wheelhouse since he and his guitar have been working the road for going on three decades.

01 – Highway Mama
02 – Wasted Time
03 – Redbird
04 – Crazy Legs
05 – Make Blues Not War
06 – On the Road
07 – Bad News Is Coming
08 – One More Train
09 – Girl Back Home
10 – Chip off the Block
11 – Road Dog
12 – Route 90



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?