Nina Simone – Fodder On My Wings (Remastered) (1982/2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Nina Simone – Fodder On My Wings (Remastered) (1982/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 44:43 minutes | 945 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Verve

Recorded in 1982, after moving to Paris, Fodder On My Wings was one of Nina Simone’s favorite and most obscure albums. Released under a small French label and only sporadically available since then, this is the original album version making a long overdue appearance. Expanded with three bonus tracks. Fodder On My Wings is an essential Simone album, which came at a time when Simone was rejuvenated by her surroundings and by the African musicians she met in her newly adopted France.

It is part of her later works, and can be regarded alongside Baltimore (1978) as one of her better achievements of that period. It is however a rather obscure album and not widely distributed. The album is one of Simone’s most introspective and personal works, with songs about her father’s death and her (not always pleasant) stay in Liberia, Trinidad and Switzerland. There is some confusion about the actual title of the album and the song with almost the same title on the album, being called “Fodder on My Wings”, “Fodder in My Wings”, “Fodder in Her Wings” interchangeably.


1. Nina Simone – I Sing Just To Know That I’m Alive
2. Nina Simone – Fodder In Her Wings
3. Nina Simone – Vous etes seuls, mais je désire etre avec vous
4. Nina Simone – Il y a un baume à Gilead
5. Nina Simone – Liberian Calypso
6. Nina Simone – Alone Again Naturally
7. Nina Simone – I Was Just A Stupid Dog To Them
8. Nina Simone – Color Is A Beautiful Thing
9. Nina Simone – Le peuple en Suisse
10. Nina Simone – Heaven Belongs To You
11. Nina Simone – Thandewye
12. Nina Simone – Stop
13. Nina Simone – They Took My Hand