Norma Winstone – Descansado: Songs For Films (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Norma Winstone – Descansado: Songs For Films (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 48:30 minutes | 828 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

Norma Winstone has found a dream home with the ECM label, a house in her own image… As part of Azimuth, the trio that she formed between 1977 and 2000 with trumpet player Kenny Wheeler and pianist John Taylor, her husband; or alone, the British artist has always been a jazz singer apart. Here, Norma Winstone brings her unique timbre to the big screen. She covers the films of Scorsese (Taxi Driver), Godard (My Life to Live), Wenders (Lisbon Story), Jewison (The Thomas Crown Affair), Zeffirelli (Romeo and Juliette), De Sica (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow) and several others. With Descansadowhich she dedicated to her late colleagues John and Kenny, she has chosen a great repertoire of scores from composers such as Bernard Hermann, Michel Legrand, Ennio Morricone, Nino Rota and William Walton.

The stripped-down and original arrangements from German saxophonist and clarinettist Klaus Gesing and Italian pianist Glauco Venier give her room to assume complete ownership of this music, which we never imagined in a jazz or quasi-chamber music setting. Norwegian percussionist Helge Andreas Norbakken and Italian cellist Mario Brunello came to round off this team of discerning artists who give this music an utterly fascinating, velvet light.

01. His Eyes, Her Eyes (From “The Thomas Crown Affair”)
02. What Is A Youth? (From “Romeo And Juliet”)
03. Descansado (Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow) (From “Ieri, Oggi, Domani”)
04. Vivre sa vie (From “Vivre sa vie”)
05. Lisbon Story (From “Lisbon Story”)
06. Malena (From “Malena”)
07. Il postino (From “Il postino”)
08. Amarcord (I Remember) (From “Amarcord”)
09. Meryton Townhall (From “Pride And Prejudice”)
10. Touch Her Soft Lips And Part (From “Henry V”)
11. Theme (So Close To Me Blues) (From “Taxi Driver”)
12. Vivre sa vie (From “Vivre sa vie” / Piano Version)

Norma Winstone, voice
Klaus Gesing, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone
Glauco Venier, piano
Helge Andreas Norbakken, percussion
Mario Brunello, violoncello, violoncello piccolo