Nothing But Thieves – Broken Machine {Deluxe} (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Nothing But Thieves – Broken Machine {Deluxe} (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 57:12 minutes | 662 MB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © RCA Records Label

Nothing But Thieves are an English alternative rock band, formed in 2012 in Southend-on-Sea, Essex. They consist of lead vocalist and guitarist Conor Mason, guitarist Joe Langridge-Brown, guitarist and keyboardist Dominic Craik, bassist Philip Blake, and drummer James Price. Their style of music has been compared to the likes of Foals, The Neighbourhood, and Civil Twilight, and they have been played on alternative, modern rock and active rock radio. Following the success of their almighty debut, Nothing But Thieves return with their second album, “Broken Machine”. Produced by Mike Crossey (The 1975, Foals, Arctic Monkeys and Twenty One Pilots to name a few) and recorded at Ranch Studios in California.

Nothing But Thieves is one of the more interesting bands to emerge in the past decade, lead vocalist Conor Mason is without a doubt very talented and their songwriting, while not perfect, is definitely of a higher level than some of their peers. Their self-titled debut is a fantastic piece of work for the newcomers, and two years later here we are with Broken Machine.

This is not a sophomore slump to put it bluntly, it’s exactly what it should’ve been. It’s everything their previous work was but far more ambitious and experimental. At times almost sounding like they’ve taken inspiration from Muse, which shouldn’t come as no surprise with the two touring together. The opening track, “I Was Just A Kid” makes that abundantly clear by using the same type of spacey, electronic guitar tones.

“Live Like Animals” and “I’m Not Made By Design” are both highlight tracks and significant signs of a progression from their initial sound. The experimentation, while not too extreme, is noticeable but fits in perfectly with the sound they had established already. Lead single, “Amsterdam”, is an energetic rock tune that sounds out from the rest of the tracklisting, and generally speaking one of the better cuts as is.

Not everything is a winner though. A couple of the songs here just feel like filler, which is a let down given how great most of the songlisting is. “Sorry” is probably one of the most predictable songs they could’ve ever written, sadly, and “Afterlife” is a weak point to close the album out on. At some points, the electronic parts of songs seem a little awkward and almost unnecessary, none more apparent than on the title track.

The potential this band has is immense, and while Broken Machine isn’t perfect, it is worth checking out for newcomers to this band. It’s a great sign of what’s to come from the band further down the line.

01 – I Was Just a Kid
02 – Amsterdam
03 – Sorry
04 – Broken Machine
05 – Live Like Animals
06 – Soda
07 – I’m Not Made by Design
08 – Particles
09 – Get Better
10 – Hell, Yeah
11 – Afterlife
12 – Reset Me [Bonus Track]
13 – Number 13 [Bonus Track]
14 – Sorry (Acoustic) [Bonus Track]
15 – Particles (Piano Version) [Bonus Track]



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?