Prince & The Revolution – Purple Rain (1984) {Deluxe Expanded Edition 2017} [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Prince & The Revolution – Purple Rain (1984) {Deluxe Expanded Edition 2017}
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 03:18:29 minutes | 3,9 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Warner Bros.

Purple Rain remains one of history’s most important, indisputable, and influential albums, but you’ve never heard it like this before. “Purple Rain Deluxe” boasts the official 2015 Paisley Park Remaster of the original tapes overseen by Prince himself in addition to a new “From The Vault & Previously Unreleased” disc with 11 unheard gems from the storied vault. The Deluxe Expanded edition contains another additional disc with all the Single edits, Maxi-single edits and B-sides from the Purple Rain era. This is Prince’s final word on his definitive masterpiece.

This draped in light rerelease of Purple Rain is an opportunity to take a beautiful trip back in time… For Prince, the 1999 advent coincides with several disputes with his entourage. The pinnacle is reached when the guitarist Dez Dickerson leaves, soon replaced by Wendy Melvoin. The star goes back to work and mulls over a project even crazier than a double album: a quasi-autobiographical movie! With their head on the chopping block, his managers are tasked with finding a film without delay. Warner’s movie division is rather lukewarm and wants warranties. Prince and his ever growing family (The Revolution, The Time, Vanity 6) perform regularly at the First Avenue club and spend the rest of their time locked away in a gigantic warehouse rehearsing and taking drama and dance classes to prepare for the movie. Prince even transferred his own studio in this warehouse to record the soundtrack of his crazy project. He also sets up a mobile studio in front of the First Avenue, where he makes live recordings of other songs. In the end, Warner Studios pay up for what will probably be one of the worst movies they’ve produced so far, a dud that will however give an exuberant and awesome soundtrack: Purple Rain reaches the top of the R&B and Pop charts. Let’s Go Crazy, When Doves Cry, Take Me With U, Purple Rain and I Would Die 4 U are all Princely hits that will dominate the airwaves in 1984 and 1985. His decadent funk rock and his frilled-shirted pimp style seduce the entire planet. Once again, the musician manages to mix his different foibles like a new Sly Stone. Containing pop melodies reminding of the Beatles and Hendrixian guitars with a funk groove rhythm, Purple Rain offers above all a complete revamping of these fundamentals of music… This Purple Rain Deluxe – Expanded Edition includes the remastered original album (the remastering was made in Paisley Park in 2015 with the original master tapes, and Prince supervised the whole process a few months before his passing), as well as eleven new titles, but also all the edit versions of the singles and their B sides. Taken from Prince’s numerous unreleased archives, the new tracks are true gems, like the 1983 instrumental version of Father’s Song. Some of them, like the studio version of Electric Intercourse, never even got out of Paisley Park before! Those gems have been mastered by Bernie Grundman, who worked on the original album.


01 – Let’s Go Crazy (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
02 – Take Me With U (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
03 – The Beautiful Ones (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
04 – Computer Blue (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
05 – Darling Nikki (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
06 – When Doves Cry (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
07 – I Would Die 4 U (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
08 – Baby I’m a Star (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
09 – Purple Rain (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)

DISC 2 – From the Vault & Previously Unreleased:
10 – The Dance Electric
11 – Love and Sex
12 – Computer Blue (“Hallway Speech” Version)
13 – Electric Intercourse (Studio Version)
14 – Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
15 – Possessed
16 – Wonderful Ass
17 – Velvet Kitty Cat
18 – Katrina’s Paper Dolls
19 – We Can Fuck
20 – Father’s Song

DISC 3 – Single Edits & B-Sides:
21 – When Doves Cry (7″ Single Edit)
22 – 17 Days (7″ B-Side Edit)
23 – Let’s Go Crazy (7″ Single Edit)
24 – Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
25 – Erotic City (“Let’s Go Crazy” 7″ B-Side Edit)
26 – Erotic City (Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive) [Extended Version]
27 – Purple Rain (7″ Single Edit)
28 – God (“Purple Rain” 7″ B-Side)
29 – God (Love Theme from Purple Rain) [U.K. 12″ B-Side]
30 – Another Lonely Christmas (“I Would Die 4 U” 7″ B-Side Edit)
31 – Another Lonely Christmas (Extended Version)
32 – I Would Die 4 U (7″ Single Edit)
33 – I Would Die 4 U (Extended Version)
34 – Baby I’m a Star (“Take Me With U” 7″ B-Side Edit)
35 – Take Me With U (7″ Single Edit)



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?