Ronnie Kole Trio – New Orleans Today (1971) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Ronnie Kole Trio – New Orleans Today (1971)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 33:02 minutes | 666 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Paula Records

Ronnie Kole is now one of America’s most legendary pianists and entertainers whose devotion to New Orleans is well documented with his induction into the New Orleans Musical Legends Park. His love-affair with the city’s music is longstanding, as evidenced by this 1971 trio recording New Orleans Today.

Jazz pianist Ronnie Kole is a class act and consummate performer who is popular in both his own country and overseas. The New Orleans-based musician spends much time abroad in Europe and Asia, where his smooth sound and elegant persona lend themselves to refined venues and guest appearances with symphony orchestras. Kole is a piano man’s piano man, admired by many top stars in the business, from Harry Connick Jr. to Allen Toussaint.

Born in Chicago, Kole was afflicted with heart trouble as a child, which landed him in a school for the handicapped. He received much encouragement there from the celebrities who made a point to visit. In return, Kole has become very involved in charitable and civic organizations in his professional career, such as the Easter Seal Society and the American Heart Association. He sits on more boards than there are ivory keys on the piano, and helped organize both the New Orleans Jazz Festival and the French Quarter Festival, and has made numerous appearances at both venues.

A protégé of Al Hirt, Kole began his professional career on television, gaining exposure on the Johnny Carson Show. After a stint in Las Vegas, he followed Hirt to New Orleans. Kole honed his act in Hirt’s club on Bourbon Street, before opening his own club, Kole’s Korner, which, along with Hirt and Pete Fountain’s clubs, became a top venue to hear traditional jazz. The musician has received every conceivable award his adopted city has to offer, from a Lifetime Achievement Award to induction into the Louisiana Music Hall of Fame. He has played for presidents and the Pope, and has performed in cities all over the world.

01 – (They Long to Be) Close to You
02 – On a Clear Day You Can See Forever
03 – Love Story
04 – Yellow Bird
05 – My Rhapsody
06 – Exodus
07 – Secret of My Soul
08 – Great Stone Bottle
09 – Sesame Street
10 – He Ain’t Heavy He’s My Brother
11 – Tennessee Waltz
12 – My Sweet Lord

Arranged by Ronnie Kole and Charlie Brent.

Ronnie Kole – piano
Everett Link Jr. – bass
Richard Taylor – percussion

This album is a high-resolution digital transfer of material originating from an analogue master source. It may contain noise, distortion or other artifacts, and may also contain audio which is limited in bandwidth or dynamic range, due to the technology used at the time of its original creation. As such, it is offered as a high-resolution documentation of a historical release.