Ryan Adams & The Cardinals – Cold Roses (2005/2014) [HDTracks 24bit/96kHz]

Ryan Adams & The Cardinals – Cold Roses (2005/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:15:54 minutes | 1,76 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | @ Lost Highway Records

Cold Roses was originally released on May 3, 2005 and is the sixth album by Ryan Adams. It is also the first album with his backing band The Cardinals. Cold Roses was produced by Tom Schick and peaked at #26 on the US Billboard 200 chart.

Last time we received a dispatch from Ryan Adams, the self-styled savior of rock & roll, it was in 2003, when he delivered his straight-up rock & roll record (aptly titled Rock N Roll) and his two-part mope-rock EP (later combined as one LP) Love Is Hell. Admirable records both, but not quite the sequel to Heartbreaker that fans craved. They also weren’t quite as successful as all the hype surrounding their release suggested that they would be, so Adams briefly retreated from the spotlight to regroup, heading back in 2005 with a planned triptych of new albums, the first of which is the double-album Cold Roses, recorded with his new backing band the Cardinals and released at the beginning of May. Three albums in one year is overkill even for an artist predisposed to releasing his every whim, and while it’s too early at this writing to judge whether he needed to release all three of the records, it’s safe to say that Cold Roses is the record many fans have been waiting to hear — a full-fledged, unapologetic return to the country-rock that made his reputation when he led Whiskeytown. Not that the album is a retreat, or a crass attempt to give the people what they want, but it’s an assured, comfortable collection of 18 songs that play to Adams’ strengths because they capture him not trying quite so hard. He settles into a warm, burnished, countryish groove not far removed from vintage Harvest-era Neil Young at the beginning and keeps it going over the course of a double-disc set that isn’t all that long. With the first disc clocking in at 39:39 and the second at 36:29, this could easily have been released as a single-disc set, but splitting it into two and packaging it as a mock-gatefold LP is classic Ryan Adams, highlighting both his flair for rock classicism and his tendency to come across slightly affected. As always, he’s so obsessive about fitting into classic rock’s long lineage that he can be slightly embarrassing — particularly on the intro to “Beautiful Sorta,” which apes David Johansen’s intro to the New York Dolls’ “Looking for a Kiss” in a way that guarantees a cringe — which is also a problem when he drifts toward lazy, profanity-riddled lyrics (“this sht just fcks you up” on “Cherry Lane”) that undercut a generally strong set of writing. But what makes Cold Roses a success, his first genuine one since Heartbreaker, is that it is a genuine band album, with the Cardinals not only getting co-writing credits but helping Adams relax and let the music flow naturally. It’s not the sound of somebody striving to save rock & roll, or even to be important, but that’s precisely why this is the easiest Ryan Adams to enjoy. The coming months with their coming LPs will reveal whether this is indeed a shift in his point of view, or just a brief break from his trademark blustering braggadocio.

01 – Magnolia Mountain
02 – Sweet Illusions
03 – Meadowlake Street
04 – When Will You Come Back Home
05 – Beautiful Sorta
06 – Now That You’re Gone
07 – Cherry Lane
08 – Mockingbird
09 – How Do You Keep Love Alive
10 – Easy Plateau
11 – Let It Ride
12 – Rosebud
13 – Cold Roses
14 – If I Am A Stranger
15 – Dance All Night
16 – Blossom
17 – Life Is Beautiful
18 – Friends

Ryan Adams – Vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica, piano, bass guitar on “Blossom”, all instruments on “Life Is Beautiful”
J.P. Bowersock – Electric guitar
Cindy Cashdollar – Steel guitar, lap steel, resonator guitar, vocals
Brad Pemberton – Drums, vocals
Catherine Popper – Bass guitar, vocals, piano
Rachael Yamagata – Vocals and piano on “Let It Ride”, “Cold Roses” and “Friends”



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "yxr8h9pmjttzx00q" when you buy membership to get this offer!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.