Steve Tyrell – A Song For You (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Steve Tyrell – A Song For You (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 47:05 minutes |915 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © New Design – East West

Grammy Award winner and two-time Emmy nominee, Steve Tyrell, releases his latest album, “A Song For You”. The 12-track release features Tyrell’s takes on classic love songs by Van Morrison, Leon Russell, Jackie Wilson, Harold Arlen & Johnny Mercer and more. In support of the release Tyrell will be performing live starting in February—see below for full tour details.

A Song For You furthers Tyrell’s vision of bridging songwriting from the rock era with that of the standards era, placing at its core the fundamental immortality of great songwriting. It draws a through-line from modern classics, such as Van Morrison’s “Someone Like You,” to the timeless romanticism of Victor Young and Edward Heyman’s “When I Fall In Love.” Also featured on the record is the final work of Tyrell’s friend and collaborator, the legendary Paul Buckmaster—one of the foremost arrangers and concertmasters of the rock era. “A Song For You” was the very last song Buckmaster worked on in his storied Grammy Award-winning career.

“Most of the songs I’ve sung are standards, ripped from the pages of the Great American Songbook. This album has quite a few of those, and I’m thrilled to return to that era again,” says Tyrell. “These are timeless tunes, and their lyrics tear at your heartstrings. Some are upbeat, some are ballads, but the common thread is that they are all about love—whether you’re hoping for it, reveling in it, or just giving it your best shot!”

Tyrell has spent nearly five decades as a songwriter, producer, music supervisor and vocalist. As producer he has helped create hits for legends such as Rod Stewart, Linda Ronstadt and Diana Ross, to name just a few. Nine of Tyrell’s own albums have reached top-five status on Billboard’s Jazz charts. He continually works to reinvent the American Standards Songbook and connect classic tunes to a modern audience, performing extensively with his band and with orchestras across the country and around the world—from the Hollywood Bowl to Carnegie Hall to Buckingham Palace. For over a decade Tyrell has held his acclaimed annual holiday residency at the famed Café Carlyle in New York City, in addition to a yearly residency at Monteverdi in Tuscany, Italy.

01. Someone Like You 03:52
02. Come Rain Or Come Shine 04:42
03. Try A Little Tenderness 04:18
04. A Song For You 04:18
05. Sunday Kind Of Love 03:31
06. When I Fall In Love 04:13
07. Come Live With Me 04:07
08. You Are So Beautiful 03:45
09. Them There Eyes 02:56
10. To Be Loved 04:05
11. The Good Life 03:02
12. Always On My Mind 04:16