The Bar-Kays – Money Talks (1978/2023) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

The Bar-Kays - Money Talks (1978/2023) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz] Download

The Bar-Kays – Money Talks (1978/2023)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 34:30 minutes | 1,27 GB | Genre: R&B, Soul, Funk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Craft Recordings

The Bar-Kays released their first single “Soul Finger” in April 1967. That same year they were chosen by Otis Redding to play as his backing band. In December Otis and four of the Bar-Kays band members died in an airplane-crash. Trumpeter Ben Cauley, Bassist James Alexander and producer Allen Jones assembled a new lineup and became the Stax house band. The 1978 they released ‘Money Talks’, in fact an album of unreleased Stax material. ‘Money Talks’ is the essence of late 70’s funk. The title track is the most mainstream cut, but that’s just an aperitif for the rest of the album. Two superb versions of their top ten hit-single “Holy Ghost” with a sheer percussive joy held together with prototypical Stratocaster work. ‘Money Talks’ is for sure a 100% Soul-Funk classic!”Although the Bar-Kays stuck with the Stax Records until its demise in 1976, the label stopped releasing the group’s recordings after 1973. However, when they re-emerged as a success on the Mercury label with hits like “Shake Your Rump to the Funk,” some unreleased recordings they made between 1974 and 1976 were released as an album entitled Money Talks. Although this repackaging was obviously designed to cash in on the group’s success, Money Talks stands up as a solid and consistent album in its own right. This material lays the groundwork for the Bar-Kays’ post-Stax style by trading live-in-the-studio jams for a carefully produced sound and blending in standout pop hooks into the funky grooves. The best example is “Holy Ghost,” a hard-grooving monster of a jam where elaborate horn arrangements dance around a thick synthesizer bassline as Larry Dodson lays down a salacious vocal about his lover’s otherworldly romantic skills. It became a big R&B hit when released as a single in 1978 and was later sampled by M/A/R/R/S on their club classic “Pump Up the Volume.” Other memorable tracks include the title track, a high-stepping tune that showcases the chops of the horn players, and “Mean Mistreater,” an unlikely but effective Grand Funk Railroad cover that transforms the minimalist original tune into a spooky yet sexy mood piece built on some languid keyboard work. None of the other tracks are as strong as “Holy Ghost” (which is so good that it bookends the album in two versions), but they are all listenable and flow together surprisingly well as an album. All in all, Money Talks is a fine slab of vintage funk that will please anyone who loves old-school grooves.” (Donald A. Guarisco, AMG)


01. The Bar-Kays – Holy Ghost (03:56)
02. The Bar-Kays – Feelin’ Alright (04:56)
03. The Bar-Kays – Monster (06:49)
04. The Bar-Kays – Money Talks (06:52)
05. The Bar-Kays – Mean Mistreater (05:46)
06. The Bar-Kays – Holy Ghost (Reborn) (06:10)

Download from FileJoker:

We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?