Thelonious Monk, John Coltrane – Thelonious Monk With John Coltrane (1961/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Thelonious Monk, John Coltrane – Thelonious Monk With John Coltrane (1961/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz  | Time – 45:51 minutes | 1,18 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Riverside Records

Thelonious Monk with John Coltrane is an album by Thelonious Monk released in 1961 on Jazzland Records. The album consists of material recorded four years earlier when Monk worked extensively with John Coltrane, and released after Coltrane became a world-class jazz musician on his own.

Universally regarded as one of the greatest collaborations between the two most influential musicians in modern jazz (Miles Davis notwithstanding), the Jazzland sessions from Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane should be recognized on other levels. While the mastery of the principals is beyond reproach, credit should also be given to peerless bassist Wilbur Ware, as mighty an anchor as anyone could want. These 1957 dates also sport a variety in drummerless trio, quartet, septet, or solo piano settings, all emphasizing the compelling and quirky compositions of Monk. A shouted-out, pronounced “Off Minor” and robust, three-minute “Epistrophy” with legendary saxophonists Coleman Hawkins, Gigi Gryce, and the brilliant, underappreciated trumpeter Ray Copeland are hallmark tracks that every jazz fan should revere. Of the four quartet sessions, the fleet “Trinkle Tinkle” tests Coltrane’s mettle, as he’s perfectly matched alongside Monk, but conversely unforced during “Nutty” before taking off. Monk’s solo piano effort, “Functional,” is flavored with blues, stride, and boogie-woogie, while a bonus track, “Monk’s Mood,” has a Monk-Ware-Coltrane tandem (minus drummer Shadow Wilson) back for an eight-minute excursion primarily with Monk in a long intro, ‘Trane in late, and Ware’s bass accents booming through the studio. This will always be an essential item standing proudly among unearthed live sessions from Monk and Coltrane, demarcating a pivotal point during the most significant year in all types of music, from a technical and creative standpoint, but especially the jazz of the immediate future. ~~AllMusic Review by Michael G. Nastos


1 Ruby, My Dear 06:23
2 Trinkle, Tinkle 06:41
3 Off Minor (Take 4)    05:17
4 Nutty 06:40
5 Epistrophy (Alt. Take)    03:11
6 Functional (Alt. Take )    09:46
7 Monk’s Mood 07:53

Thelonious Monk, piano
John Coltrane, tenor saxophone
Ray Copeland, trumpet on “Off Minor” and “Epistrophy”
Gigi Gryce, alto saxophone on “Off Minor” and “Epistrophy”
Coleman Hawkins, tenor saxophone on “Off Minor” and “Epistrophy”
Wilbur Ware, bass
Shadow Wilson, drums on “Ruby, My Dear,” “Trinkle, Tinkle,” and “Nutty”
Art Blakey, drums on “Off Minor” and “Epistrophy”



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?