Van Morrison – Days Like This (Remastered) (2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Van Morrison – Days Like This (Remastered) (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 58:00 minutes | 1,23 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Legacy Recordings

“Days Like This” is the twenty-third studio album by Northern Irish singer-songwriter Van Morrison, released in 1995 (see 1995 in music). It is a diverse group of songs offering a variety of moods and styles. It ranked No. 5 on the UK album charts and was nominated for the Mercury Prize.

One of music’s true originals, Van Morrison’s unique and inspirational musical legacy, is rooted in postwar Belfast.

Born in 1945 Van heard his Shipyard worker father’s collection of blues, country and gospel early in life. Feeding off musical greats such as Hank Williams, Jimmie Rodgers, Muddy Waters, Mahalia Jackson and Leadbelly he was a traveling musician at 13 and singing, playing guitar and sax, in several bands, before forming Them in 1964. Making their name at Belfast’s Maritime Club Them soon established Van as a major force in the British R&B scene.

Morrison’s matchless vocal and songwriting talents produced instant classics such as the much covered ‘Gloria’ and ‘Here Comes The Night’. Those talents found full astonishing range in Van’s solo career. After working with Them’s New York producer Bert Berns on beautiful Top 40 pop hit ‘Brown Eyed Girl’ (1967), Morrison moved to another realm.

With one of the most revered catalogues in music history and his unparalleled talents as composer, singer and performer Morrison’s past achievements loom large. But, as throughout his extraordinary career, how that past informs his future achievements and still stirs excitement and keen anticipation.

Van Morrison’s 22nd album of new studio material will have a familiar sound to anyone who has followed his career thus far. The songs are set to steady mid-tempo grooves, with tasty guitar and organ solos and warm horn charts, over which Morrison sings in his butterscotch baritone, employing his characteristic slurs and repetitions, exploring topics that have interested him over the years. If there is any difference from earlier works, it is one of degree: Days Like This is typically introspective and given over to spiritual, psychological, and romantic concerns, but its songs are unusually straightforward. Beginning with a direct, up-tempo love song, “Perfect Fit,” Morrison provides a statement of purpose in “Raincheck” (“Won’t let the bastards get me down…I don’t fade away, unless I want to”), yet confesses to doubt (“Underlying Depression,” “Melancholia”). He matter-of-factly describes his profession (“Songwriter”), and discounts spirituality, at least in formal terms (“No Religion”), though in the extended song “Ancient Highway” he prays to “my higher self.” In the title song, he turns the usual cliché on its head — the “Days Like This” he means are the good ones, “when everything falls into place like the flick of a switch.” Morrison changes the pace with two covers of 1950s oldies, the ’56 Eddy Arnold hit “You Don’t Know Me,” and the ’50 Kay Starr and Tennessee Ernie Ford hit “I’ll Never Be Free,” on both of which he duets with his daughter Shana. As he approaches 50, Van Morrison remains interested in the same subjects and is able to sing about them with the same forcefulness. “I cleaned up my diction, I had nothing left to say,” he confesses at one point. Nothing new, perhaps, but on Days Like This Morrison says some of the same things with a new clarity. ~ William Ruhlmann

1. Perfect Fit (4:35)
2. Russian Roulette (4:00)
3. Raincheck (5:55)
4. You Don’t Know Me (4:36)
5. No Religion (5:18)
6. Underlying Depression (4:38)
7. Songwriter (2:51)
8. Days Like This (3:17)
9. I’ll Never Be Free (3:42)
10. Melancholia (3:59)
11. Ancient Highway (8:55)
12. In the Afternoon (6:21)

Digitally remastered



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "yxr8h9pmjttzx00q" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?