Airto – Free (1972/2016) [e-Onkyo FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Airto – Free (1972/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 38:27 minutes | 1,45 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: e-Onkyo| Front cover | © CTI Records
Recorded: March 23 and April 12, 13 & 20, 1972 at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey

Free is an album by Brazilian jazz drummer and percussionist Airto Moreira (who was credited simply as “Airto”) featuring performances recorded in 1972 and released on the CTI label. The album reached number 30 in the Billboard Jazz albums charts.

Other than a couple of obscure efforts for Buddah in 1970, this was percussionist Airto’s debut as a leader, and this is still his most famous record. A brass section arranged by Don Sebesky is heard on two tracks, and such all-stars as keyboardist Chick Corea, flutist Hubert Laws, the reeds of Joe Farrell, and even pianist Keith Jarrett and guitarist George Benson make worthwhile appearances. Flora Purim joins Airto in the one vocal piece (“Free”), and “Return to Forever” receives an early recording. The music combines together jazz, Brazilian music, and aspects of fusion and funk quite successfully. —AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

1 Return To Forever 10:20
2 Flora’s Song 8:35
3 Free 10:39
4 Lucky Southern 2:39
5 Creek (Arroio) 6:14

Airto – percussion, vocals
Hubert Laws – flute
Joe Farrell – soprano saxophone, flute alto flute, bass flute, piccolo
Chick Corea – piano, electric piano
Keith Jarrett – piano
Nelson Ayres – electric piano
George Benson – guitar
Jay Berliner – guitar
Ron Carter – bass
Stanley Clarke – electric bass
Flora Purim – vocals
Burt Collins, Mel Davis, Alan Rubin – trumpet, flugelhorn
Wayne Andre, Garnett Brown, Joe Wallace – trombone
Don Sebesky – arranger



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?