Alexander Grychtolik – Bach: Angenehme Melodei (Huldigungskantaten, BWV 216a & 210a) (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Alexander Grychtolik – Bach: Angenehme Melodei (Huldigungskantaten, BWV 216a & 210a) (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 52:49 minutes | 1,03 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet | © deutsche harmonia mundi

It’s amazing to think that world première recordings of Bach are possible today at all. The harpsichordist Alexander Grychtolik has painstakingly reconstructed two homage cantatas from Bach’s Leipzig years. The first, Erwählte Pleissenstadt (BWV 216a), survives only in a draft libretto and a few fragments of notation rediscovered in 2003 among the posthumous papers of a Japanese pianist. The second, O angenehme Melodei (BWV 210a), survives only in a soprano part and a separate print of the libretto for the earliest of its three versions. The instrumental accompaniment had to be reconstructed from a later version of the same cantata. Perhaps the longest solo cantata Bach ever wrote, O angenehme Melodei deals with the divine origins of music. Both works were first performed in Leipzig in the 1730s and 1740s.

Alexander Grychtolik has recorded the reconstructed cantatas in Berlin with his ensemble Deutsche Hofmusik and the singers Katja Stuber, Franz Vitzthum and Daniel Johannsen. The result is an impressive world première recording of magnificent music.


Johann Sebatian Bach (1685-1750)
Erwählte Pleissenstadt, BWV 216a
1 I. Erwählte Pleißenstadt (Duetto) 07:26
2 II. Ihr Städte, die man in der Welt (Recitativo) 00:34
3 III. Angenehmes Pleiß-Athen 04:24
4 IV. Nicht die Gelehrsamkeit allein (Recitativo) 00:57
5 V. Mit Lachen und Scherzen 05:48
6 VI. Drum ist gewiss (Recitativo) 00:45
7 VII. Heil und Segen (Duetto) 02:56
O angenehme Melodei, BWV 210a
8 I. O angenehme Melodei (Recitativo) 00:53
9 II. Spielet, ihr beseelten Lieder 06:19
10 III. Ihr Sorgen, flieht (Recitativo) 00:51
11 IV. Ruhet hie, matte Sinne 06:33
12 V. Wiewohl, beliebte Musica (Recitativo) 00:40
13 VI. Schweigt, ihr Flöten, schweigt, ihr Töne 04:25
14 VII. Doch fasse dich (Recitativo) 00:55
15 VIII. Werte Gönner, alles Wissen 02:55
16I X. Verehrte Gönner, so bleibet fernerweit (Recitativo) 00:59
17 X. Seid vergnügt, werte Gönner 05:21

Franz Vitzthum, counter tenor
Daniel Johannsen, tenor
Deutsche Hofmusik
Alexander Grychtolik, harpsichord



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?