Allison Pierce – Year Of The Rabbit (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Allison Pierce – Year Of The Rabbit (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 40:31 minutes | 457 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Masterworks

Allison Pierce is launching the second chapter of her distinguished career with her new album Year of the Rabbit, an eloquent straight-from-the-heart solo debut. The new album finds Pierce transformed following two decades of recording and performing with her sister Catherine as The Pierces. The duo’s five albums and constant tours brought them critical acclaim and a loyal fan base. But as the years passed, each longed to express herself unfettered by the other and in 2015, The Pierces called it quits, whereupon the sisters launched solo careers.

After two decades recording and performing with her sister Catherine as The Pierces, Allison Pierce ventures into new musical territory with her solo debut, Year of the Rabbit. Produced by Ethan Johns (Ryan Adams, Ray LaMontagne, Kings of Leon) and recorded at Sunset Sound in Hollywood, the album touches on issues of raw human experiences. Pierce showcases her songwriting chops with an effort that explores love, loneliness, mortality, and spirituality. Allison Pierce shows her strength as a solo artist in an album that feels personally drawn, but universal in its scope. The songs tread the line of haunting and heartbreaking with a sincerity reinforced by strong imagery and sound production.

The complexities of love are a large part of the record. Opener “Fool Him” takes on the burdens of the revolving door nature of a toxic relationship. “Sea of Love” looks at the euphoria of love and the terrifying uncertainty of whether it will last. “Never Look Back” reminds me of “She’s Got You” sung by Patsy Cline, where a speaker looks at the tokens of her past relationship and understands their meanings have changed. Pierce’s speaker reluctantly releases her lover, even though it means she’s alone, “I know it’s set you free and that’s the only way to be/I know there’s nothing that you lack. /No look, no sigh, no kiss goodbye, and I know you’re never coming back.” The speaker moves beyond her desertion by accepting that her partner did not need her to feel whole. This awareness seems to ease her rejection. “It is Well with My Soul” diverts slightly from the americana sounds of the record, offering a gospel-tinged track that speaks to the gifts and peace of spirituality. While “To The Grave” touches on the inevitability of death. Pierce’s sweet voice strains the morbidity from the song, bringing a slight comfort to the track. There is a sense that the unknown binds us together after our earthly selves are gone. “Peace Like a River” closes the album with a track that invokes strong natural and animal imagery. The vision of a river and a dove are heavy with metaphor, biblically and in our cultural ethos. The song’s meaning feels slightly elusive, rooted somewhere in the restorative qualities that water and love bring us.

01 – Fool Him
02 – Evidence
03 – Follow You Down
04 – Never Coming Back
05 – Sea Of Love
06 – Drink One For You
07 – I Can See For Miles
08 – To The Grave
09 – It Is Well With My Soul
10 – A Kiss Before You Go
11 – Bed Of Nails
12 – Peace Like A River



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?