Arkady Shilkloper, Vadim Neselovskyi – Lustrum (2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Arkady Shilkloper, Vadim Neselovskyi – Lustrum (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 48:40 minutes | 892 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Cover | © Neuklang Records

LUSTRUM is a Latin term describing a period of 5 years in ancient Rome. Arkady Shilkloper and Vadim Neselovskyi have been playing together since 2011 and celebrated their 5-year anniversary in the year this recording was made. Hence the title of the album Lustrum, which also contains the words for Light and Delight – because the collaboration between the two musicians is characterised by their joie de vivre and the obvious delight they take in playing together.

Lustrum is the second duo album to be released on Neuklang by the Russian Arkady Shilkloper (Horn) and the Ukranian Vadim Neselovskyi (Piano). The two have known each other since the then 19-year-old music student, Vadim, performed live for the first time with Arkady and the Moscow Art Trio in the ‘Domizil’ jazz club in Dortmund. It wasn’t until much later that the idea of forming a duo was born, which developed into a congenial cooperation between two outstanding musicians.

The collaboration is highly inspiring for both and a fascinating process. According to Vadim, the natural limits of the French Horn and the Alphorn are sometimes hard for pianists to understand. But Arkady is such a virtuoso that anything is possible. It’s always most enjoyable to work on new material, to try out new registers on the Horn, to swap roles and to achieve something which at the outset appeared completely unachievable.

Most composers have a personal story which forms a basis for their work. The idea for Get Up And Go came to Vadim from news broadcasts about world-wide wars and conflicts. He imagined a wounded soldier lying on the ground who, despite his pain and weakness, pulls himself together and battles for survival with all his remaining strength. On the other hand, Songs My Parents Sing is based on pleasant memories of his parents, who often sang Russian and Ukrainian songs together in their kitchen. The underlying theme comes from a song about an old coachman, which can be heard in its original form in the introduction and which then takes the listener along on a bumpy ride.

01 – Get Up and Go
02 – Song for Vera
03 – Station Taiga
04 – Songs My Parents Sing
05 – Kornblume
06 – Intrada
07 – Almost December

Arkady Shilkloper – french horn
Vadim Neselovskyi – piano



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?