Barry Douglas – Tchaikovsky Plus One, Vol. 3 (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Barry Douglas – Tchaikovsky Plus One, Vol. 3 (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:18:29 minutes | 1,17 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Chandos

For the third volume of his musical tribute to Russia, Barry Douglas has selected a range of love songs and dances by Tchaikovsky that span much of his composing life. From the early Romance, Op. 5 through to the two pieces from Op. 72, his last works for the piano, there is a uniform singing quality, each piece redolent with Tchaikovsky’s gift for melody. Although many of these are relatively short pieces, they are certainly more than “miniatures”, conveying both breadth and depth of emotional substance. This volume’s “plus one” comes in the guise of Prokofiev and his virtuosic transcription of ten pieces from his best-known ballet, Romeo and Juliet. Vividly capturing the colour of scenes and characters with the relatively limited palette of the solo piano (compared to the full orchestra) is in itself an outstanding achievement, and Barry Douglas’s fearless interpretation dazzles from start to finish.

1. Barry Douglas – Dumka, Op. 59, TH 145 “Russian Rustic Scene”
2. Barry Douglas – Romance in F Minor, Op. 5, TH 127
3. Barry Douglas – No. 5, Romance
4. Barry Douglas – No. 4, Danse caractristique
5. Barry Douglas – No. 2, Polka peu dansante
6. Barry Douglas – No. 1, Nocturne
7. Barry Douglas – No. 6, Valse sentimentale
8. Barry Douglas – No. 18, Scne dansante
9. Barry Douglas – No. 1, Folk Dance
10. Barry Douglas – No. 2, Scene
11. Barry Douglas – No. 3, Minuet
12. Barry Douglas – No. 4, The Young Juliet
13. Barry Douglas – No. 5, Masks
14. Barry Douglas – No. 6, Montagues and Capulets
15. Barry Douglas – No. 7, Friar Laurence
16. Barry Douglas – No. 8, Mercutio
17. Barry Douglas – No. 9, Dance of the Girls with Lilies
18. Barry Douglas – No. 10, Romeo and Juliet Before Parting



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?