Belfiato Quintet – Janacek, Foerster & Haas: Music for Wind Instruments (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Belfiato Quintet – Janáček, Foerster & Haas: Music for Wind Instruments (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 50:35 minutes | 424 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Supraphon a.s.

If there’s bel canto (fine singing) then why don’t we have bel fiato (fine winding)?! For that’s the name – Belfiato – that was given to the superb Czech wind quintet, founded in 2005 with young musicians who were still students at Prague’s Conservatory, but whose respective careers are then followed up in the heart of the most prestigious orchestras in the country. Here’s their great debut discography – it is hardly surprising that it covers the Czech repertoire well which, as luck would have it, is not lacking in works for wind. The work worth noting is without a doubt Jeunesse by Janáček – written for a sextet (a wind quintet with an added bass clarinet) in 1924, it is in no way a work of youth, despite the title, as the composer was 70 years old! Though it’s true that the vivacity  of tone, the harmonic and rhythmic insolence and the humour even from time to time, make it a real fount of youth. Foerster was 50 years old when he wrote his Quintet and although he was 5 years younger than Janáček, his music seemed to come from a time longer ago. It must be noted that his work dates from 1909. Finally, being 20 years younger, Pavel Haas was only 30 when he committed his own Quintet in 1929, in which you can see without a doubt the influence of his teacher, Janáček. However, Haas succeeded in finding his own style. We wish Quintet Belfiato ‘bon vent’ for their remarkable debut discography.


Josef Bohuslav Foerster (1859-1951)
Wind Quintet D Major, Op. 95
1. Allegro moderato 04:27
2. Andante sostenuto 05:02
3. Allegro scherzando 05:36
4. Moderato e tranquillo – Allegro vivo – Allegro deciso 04:20

Pavel Haas (1899-1944)
Wind Quintet, Op. 10
5. Preludio. Andante, ma vivace 03:11
6. Preghiera. Misterioso e triste 05:02
7. Balo eccentrico. Ritmo marcato 02:09
8. Epilogo. Maestoso 03:40

Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
Youth. Suite for Flute (piccolo), Oboe, Clarinet, French Horn, Bassoon and Bass Clarinet
9. Allegro 03:41
10. Andante sostenuto 05:01
11. Vivace 03:51
12. Allegro animato 04:47

Belfiato Quintet:
Oto Reiprich – flute,
Jan Souček – oboe,
Jiří Javůrek – clarinet,
Ondřej Šindelář – bassoon,
Kateřina Javůrková – horn.
Jindřich Pavliš, as a guest – bass clarinet (Janáček)



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?