Benjamin Beilman – Spectrum (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Benjamin Beilman – Spectrum (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:09:21 minutes | 618 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet | © Warner Classics
Recorded: 18-21.VIII.2015, Fraser Performance Studio, WGBH, Boston

Violinist Benjamin Beilman makes his debut as an exclusive Warner Classics artist with Spectrum, an album uniting works by Schubert, Janáček, Stravinsky and Kreisler. With his regular duo partner, pianist Yekwon Sunwoo – a fellow alumnus of Philadelphia’s prestigious Curtis Institute – Beilman explores a multitude of colours and expressive possibilities, evoking them with the finest technical nuances.
The title of this debut release by violinist Benjamin Beilman appears to mean nothing more than that he performs a wide variety of music. But that he indeed does, not even touching on one of the Beethoven sonatas that is conventional in such a situation. Beilman’s range is wide, and he’s aided by a relaxed, organic relationship with pianist Yekwon Sunwoo, his fellow Curtis Institute of Music graduate. Start your sampling at the very beginning: Beilman’s reading of the limpid yet suddenly expansive Violin Sonata in A major, D. 574 (“Grand Duo”), of Schubert has a strikingly rich lyrical tone in the best American East Coast tradition. Beilman pivots to the emotionally intense Violin Sonata of Leos Janácek, mashing through its increasingly brutal language as if anchored to sanity by Sunwoo, and in the transcription of music from Stravinsky’s Le Baiser de la Fée by Kreisler student Samuel Dushkin he is as crisp and affectless as one could wish. Only in the finale Viennese Rhapsodic Fantasietta of Kreisler himself, a rather odd work, does one wish for a bit more otherworldly nostalgia. This is a young violinist to watch, one who has already mastered many styles and is working toward breakthroughs of his own in some of them.


Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Sonata in A, D574 (Grand Duo)
1. I. Allegro moderato 09:04
2. II. Scherzo (presto) 04:03
3. III. Andantino 03:55
4. IV. Allegro vivace 05:18

Leos Janáček (1854-1928)
Sonata for violin & piano, JW. 7/7
5. I. Con moto 05:07
6. II.Ballada 05:05
7. III. Allegretto 02:29
8. IV. Adagio 05:10

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
Divertimento from Le baiser de la fee
9. I. Sinfonia 06:10
10. II. Danses Suisses 04:28
11. III. Scherzo (Au Moulin) 01:12
12. IV. Pas de deux – a) Adagio 03:08
13. IV. Pas de deux – b) Variation 01:12
14. IV. Pas de deux – c) Coda 02:14

Fritz Kreisler (1875-1962)
15. Viennese Rhapsodic Fantasietta 08:55

Benjamin Beilman, violin
Yekwon Sunwoo, piano



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?