Bobby Scott – Great Scott (1954/2013) [PrestoClassical FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Bobby Scott – Great Scott (1954/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 19:58 minutes | 195 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: PrestoClassical | Digital Booklet | © Bethlehem Records

Bobby Scott was the Orson Welles of jazz. His prodigious talents, largely realized at a remarkably early age, were manifold: vocalist, pianist, vibraphonist and composer. Although never a household name like some of his jazz contemporaries, Scott will always be remembered for his pop songwriting. He co-wrote both “A Taste Of Honey” which earned him a Grammy Award and “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother,” a #1 hit for The Hollies. Both songs have been recorded dozens of times by myriad artists over the years.

Later known as an accomplished singer, this early recording by Scott is entirely instrumental and serves as a showcase for his talents on piano and vibes. Scott was still a teenager when he recorded this album but his skill belied his youth. He would have a relatively short career in jazz, choosing to focus on composing pop music, but JazzWax says that Scott’s early albums like Great Scott “display understated confidence and charisma that sound great today.”

01 – Pee Wee
02 – Phil’s Mood
03 – Moonbeaux
04 – Tenderly
05 – Ode To Monk
06 – Polka Dots And Moonbeams
07 – Gone With The Wind
08 – Lullaby Of Birdland

Recorded in NYC on September 21, 1954.
Remastered in 2013. Remastered by John Sigmon.
Transfer Engineers: Alex Nappi, Dana Pendersen.

Bobby Scott – piano
Whitey Mitchell – bass
Bill Bradley Jr. – drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?