Charly Antolini – In The Groove (1972/2015) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Charly Antolini – In The Groove (1972/2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 42:58 minutes | 814 MB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © MPS Classical

Swiss drummer Charly Antolini has been a force in European mainstream jazz for over half a century, a super-technician often compared with Buddy Rich and Louis Bellson. Beginning his professional career playing in Paris with such New Orleans legends as Sidney Bechet and Albert Nicholas, he graduated to swing and bop, working with Benny Goodman, Earl Hines, Jimmy Guiffre, and Art Farmer, among others. Antolini is best known for his own all-star ensembles.

This 1972 album shows Antolini coming into his own as a leader, as he organizes a ten-man ensemble of outstanding European musicians. Jesus Christ Superstar begins with an atmospheric choral horn entry, followed by funky horn riffs trading with explosive drum exclamations on into an apocalyptic Antolini solo and back to a broiling funk feel. Handicraft builds its jazzy funk around Antolini’s quicksilver play interspersed with some hip organ lines. Punching Ball is a straight-ahead jazz gem with swinging horn solos and punchy horn backings. With its mariachi feel played over a funk riff, Gringo Domingo tastes of tequilas while relaxing under a hot Mexican sun. Scratches is a bluesy hard-driving piece of pure funk with a soulful sax solo and Antolini struttin’ his stuff. Y Luego begins with a luxurious balladic flute-guitar duo before dancing into a lively Afro-Cuban groove. Skinny pulsates with a pop-rock sound and a classic Antolini solo. Gemma Ham has Antolini in the groove as he brings the band back home.

01 – Jesus Christ Superstar
02 – Handicraft
03 – Punching Ball
04 – Gringo Domingo
05 – Scratches
06 – Y Luego
07 – Skinny
08 – Gemma Ham

Produced by Willi Fruth. Engineered by Jörg Scheuermann.
Recorded in January 1972 at Union Studio, Munich, Germany.
Digitally Remastered.

Charly Antolini – drums
Dusko Goykovich – trumpet
Heinz von Hermann – saxophone, flute
Herman Schoonderwalt – saxophone
Ack van Rooyen – trumpet, flugelhorn
Rudi Fusers – trombone
Siegfried Schwab – guitar
Armin Rusch – piano
Jean Warland – bass
Berni Prock – percussion



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?