Chris Kelsey Quintet – Chris Kelsey Quintet (2018) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Chris Kelsey – Chris Kelsey Quintet (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 57:23 minutes | 1,14 GB | Genre:  Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Unseen Rain

The saxophonist leads his quintet in a set of his own gnarly original compositions. With a band comprising pianist Lewis Porter, guitarist Jack DeSalvo, bassist Francois Grillot, and drummer Enrique Haneine. The music by these creative and great jazz musicians is very dynamic and expressive. They are using huge range of different musical expressions, twisting together various playing styles and playing techniques. Outstanding and impressive solos, passionate and vivacious improvisations, rigorous, loud and powerful blow outs, dynamic rhythmic and synthesis with various music styles – all these elements are the main part of the compositions. The music by these great jazz masters is based on avant-garde and experimental jazz, free improvisation, bebop, post-bop, neo-bop and other contemporary and modern jazz styles intonations. Their music always has expressive and extraordinary sound.

The music of this album has remarkable and interesting sound. Collective improvisations are based on synthesis between avant-garde and modern jazz. Very soft and mild intonations of rock music also are heard, especially in guitar section. Music is full of contrasts, colorful and impressive solos, sudden and drastic stylistic changes, original and inventive musical decisions and other similar things. Huge range of different playing techniques and expressions make an effort to rich, evocative, innovative and bright musical language of the compositions. The compositions have bright and solid melodic section and very dynamic, colorful and expressive rhythmic section. These two sections are contrasting with each other – independent and individual improvisations by each musician are organically twisted together in one place. Saxophones melodies by Chris Kelsey are based on expressive and vivacious solos. These solos bring the intonations of bebop and other modern jazz styles. Along with the moody and contrasting solos, there’s also are touching and free improvisations, spontaneous solos, very colorful background, sharp harmony and synthesis of experimental and traditional playing techniques. The most effective episodes of saxophonist improvisations are remarkable, virtuosic and impressive solos, passionate melodies and vibrant blow outs. The elements of modern jazz styles are merged together with free improvisation and avant-garde jazz. Jack DeSalvo guitar melodies have the main elements of fusion, mild intonations of rock styles, basic elements of modern jazz and free improvisation. Organic synthesis of these different and contrasting music styles create effective, colorful and expressive sound. Lewis Porter piano melodies are totally based on free improvisation – pianist masterfully mixes together passionate, expressive and remarkable solos, wild fast and virtuosic passages, traditional playing techniques and experimental ways of playing. His playing is expressive, vivacious and energetic. Pianist is the master of twisting together different elements of musical language, original ways of playing and dozens of different playing techniques. Sharp and aggressive harmony, dynamic rhythmic, turbulent and loud improvisations are contrasting with lyrical and peaceful excerpts of this music. Francois Grillot double bass melodies are filled with unusual timbres, huge variety of playing manners and sounds. His music has colorful and contrasting sound – separate and repetitive tones, deep and solid bass line is twisted together with expressive, touching, passionate and remarkable solos and free improvisations. Enrique Haneine drums section is universal – it gently and organically fits together with each instrument. Various rhythmic formulas, basic rhythms of jazz and rock styles are mixed with rapid and loud arpeggios, drum rolls, fanfars, colorful percussion and experimental ways of playing. The music of this album is made with passion and expression – it has remarkable and innovative sound.

01 – Very Good Wrath
02 – Nikita’s Mizkita
03 – Corn Pone
04 – Pestimism
05 – Cowering Inferno
06 – Purple Drizzle
07 – Useless Appendage
08 – Moochie the Minor
09 – Fran’s Coy Tune

Produced by Jack DeSalvo, Engineered by Jim DeSalvo.
Recorded on June 18, 2016 at Trading 8s Studio, Paramus, NJ.
Mixed & Mastered by Jim DeSalvo at Beanstudio, Wayne, NJ.

Chris Kelsey – straight alto, tenor and baritone saxophones
Jack DeSalvo – guitar
Lewis Porter – piano
François Grillot – double bass
Enrique Haneine – drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?