Christoph Schickedanz, Holger Spegg, Mathias Beyer-Karlshoj – Ernst Krenek: Works for Violin (2013) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Ernst Krenek – Works for Violin – Christoph Schickedanz, Holger Spegg, Mathias Beyer-Karlshoj (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:05:04 minutes | 656 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © Audite Musikproduktion

Four works – four composing styles – four creative periods of Ernst Krenek – four trouvailles of classical modernism. The first Solo Sonata – presented here as world premier recording – urges towards expressive breadth, the Triophantasie plays with the past and alludes to the music of Franz Schubert. The second Sonata for Violin and Piano, modern in idiom and classical in form, was written in exile.The second Solo Sonata, composed in 1948 in a phase of uncertainty, presents acondensed, more objective counterpart of the first. Christoph Schickedanz convinces with outstanding technical brilliance, multifaceted colouration and exuberant music-making.

Like many long-lived composers before him, Ernst Krenek composed for so many decades that his music is sometimes divided into periods, for the convenience of explaining his many changes of styles and techniques. Audite’s 2013 album of Krenek’s chamber works presents representative pieces in premiere recordings that reflect distinct phases, from the free atonality of the Sonata for solo violin No. 1 (1925), to the neo-Romanticism of the Triophantasie (1929), which was modeled after Franz Schubert, to the twelve-tone works profoundly influenced by Arnold Schoenberg, the Sonata for violin and piano (1945) and the Sonata for solo violin No. 2 (1948), a consolidation of Krenek’s thinking in a work that looks back to the first piece on the program. Such polystylism and adoption of new methods was characteristic of many artists finding their way through the myriad possibilities of modernism, and Krenek succeeded better than most, not by chasing fashions but by adapting them to his needs, in what was clearly an organic development. This CD by the Johannes Kreisler Trio (violinist Christoph Schickedanz, cellist Mathias Beyer-Karlshoj, and pianist Holger Spegg) does justice to this corner of Krenek’s music, and the clarity and warmth of their playing makes this music attractive and easy to appreciate.

Ernst Krenek (1900-1991)
Sonata for Solo Violin No. 1, Op. 33 (1924/25, dedicated to Alma Moodie) 11:37
1. Largo
2. Vivace furioso (mit Vehemenz)
3. Adagio (möglichst ruhevoll)
4. Allegro, poco vivace (“pièce joyeuse”)
Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano, Op. 99 (1944/45) 9:25
5. Andante con moto – Animato
6. Adagio
7. Allegro assai, vivace
Trio-Fantasie for Piano and Strings, Op. 63 (1929) 8:58
8. Andante sostenuto – Allegro, ma non troppo – Tempo I – Allegro agitato – Tempo I – Poco piú mosso, scherzando – Tempo I
Sonata for Solo Violin No. 2, Op. 115 (1948) 10:25
9. Allegro deciso
10. Adagio
11. Allegretto grazioso – Molto vivace – Presto

Christoph Schickedanz, violin
Holger Spegg, piano
Mathias Beyer-Karlshoj, cello



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?