Clark Tracey – Stability (2001) [Reissue 2003] {SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz}

Clark Tracey – Stability (2001) [Reissue 2003]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 56:01 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,27 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,1 GB
Genre: Jazz

Clark Tracey has gathered a group of top-of-the-list UK jazz artists for a session that incorporates hard bop, some smooth jazz, and pretty ballads with a string quartet in attendance. For his debut solo album drummer Clark Tracey has brought together a range of musicians, each hand-picked as a result of who he thought best suited the mood of each piece. With connections borne of years in the industry Clark was able to have his first choice of performer on each instrument resulting in unbeatable interpretations. The guests musicians include Andy Sheppard, Tommy Smith, Tim Garland, Iain Ballamy, Nigel Hitchcock, Guy Barker, Christine Tobin, Gareth Williams, Arnie Somogyi, Laurence Cottle and the Locrian String Quartet.

Scion of foremost English jazz pianist Stan Tracey, drummer Clark Tracey has gathered a group of top-of-the-list U.K. jazz artists for a session that incorporates a variety of playing modes, including a contribution by Irish avant-garde singer Christine Tobin. There’s hard bop, some smooth jazz, and pretty ballads with a string quartet in attendance. Tracey has found a successful and accommodating method to solve the conundrum drummer leaders often find themselves faced with, viz., to dominate and run the risk of overwhelming or to lie back and be the main rhythm. He provides rhythmic support, adding well-timed drum breaks and short but telling solos. The drummer adopts a broad definition for “support.” Tracey is quite active on such cuts as “Giant Steps,” where he and pianist Gareth Williams offer a much more straight swinging version of John Coltrane’s classic than usually heard, likely because of the strong involvement of Tracey’s drums. On tunes as “Black Coffee”,,the drummer lays back as Tim Garland’s sax takes the lead with the Locrian String Quartet on hand to provide the bulk of the musical background. Tracey also contributes well conceived, melodic originals such as “Lounge Blues,” a tune that exudes an exotic aura which Iain Ballamy’s soprano sax helps create with Tracey’s cymbals and Arnie Somogyi’s bass. Irish singer Christine Tobin provides a vocal recitation of the moving poetic lyrics for Tracey’s “Stability.” The lieder recital mood is set by the Locrian String Quartet, the only instrumentation on the track. One of the more intriguing cuts is a pensive piano solo by Tracey, giving a rare airing of Duke Ellington’s “Melancholia.” Stability is a seminar on eclectic musical styles and is recommended.

01. Gone
02. Black Coffee
03. Lounge Blues
04. Ugly Beauty
05. Sunshower
06. The Peacocks
07. Giant Steps
08. Stability
09. Melancholia
10. Boaz

Recorded on December 18-20, 2000 at RG Jones Studios.



FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz


We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?