David Benoit feat. Jane Monheit – 2 In Love (2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

David Benoit feat. Jane Monheit – 2 In Love (2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 39:21 minutes | 850 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | Digital booklet | © Concord Records

2 In Love is the 35th album from Grammy-nominated pianist/composer/arranger David Benoit and his very first release to feature a vocalist. Jane Monheit, the cool-toned chanteuse from New York, was suggested by Benoit’s record label and he says she was “perfect.” For three decades, the pianist has reigned supreme as one the founding fathers of contemporary jazz, but he wanted to show other dimensions of his artistry, influenced by Stephen Sondheim, Burt Bacharach, Dave Grusin and Leonard Bernstein. Along with Monheit, Benoit also enlisted the help of three lyricists: Mark Winkler, Lorraine Feather and Spencer Day. This talented triad breathed lyrical life into Benoit’s songs and helped showcase Monheit’s considerable skills as an interpreter.

“(Monheit) was the perfect vocalist. I like to make records a certain way: I prefer to go in live and record it all at once. And a lot of vocalists can’t do that: they need to edit, fix and use auto-tune. But Jane doesn’t need to do any of those things. Many of the keys were difficult, but she sang everything live. Jane also has a background in Broadway, which is another part of my lexicon that I’ve not explored. She was up to the task and easy to work with. She made it a complete, perfect package.” ~~ David Benoit

On his 35th album as a leader, pianist and composer David Benoit changed up his game. Remarkably, 2 in Love is the very first time in his long career that he’s worked with a vocalist on an entire album. His chosen collaborator is Jane Monheit, one of the most celebrated mainstream jazz singers. All but one of these ten songs are originals co-written with three different lyricists: Lorraine Feather, Mark Winkler, and Spencer Day. Produced by the pianist, 2 in Love was cut live in the studio — a daunting prospect for most contemporary vocalists. But Monheit is no ordinary singer. Check her delivery on the knotty, Latin-tinged opener “Barcelona Nights.” She glides through the changes and imbues her canny phrasing with just a hint of samba, with each articulated syllable entrenched in the song’s groove. The sultry passion in her utterance is complemented beautifully by Pat Kelly’s nylon-string guitar in the bridge. The title track is a swinging bossa with charging piano and hand percussion. Monheit has demonstrated throughout her career that her grasp on the form is both expert and soulful. On “Dragonfly,” a lithe country-esque waltz, she pulls back, but just enough to let the addition of a violin and cello color the parlor room feel of Benoit’s melody. “Fly Away” is beautifully realized cinematic pop, while “Love Will Light a Way” and “Something’s Gotta Give” offer distinct sides of popular music’s theatrical side. There are two instrumentals on the set as well. “Love in Hyde Park” is a stripped-down yet elegant — and ultimately preferable — version of “A Moment in Hyde Park,” which first appeared on Love Is Like a Samba (where the pianist was accompanied by an orchestra). This version, arranged for quartet, features flutist Tim Weisberg, who adds an exotic, breezy texture atop Benoit’s shimmering pianism. The closer is a solo piano medley of Leonard Bernstein’s “Love Theme from Candide” and Stephen Sondheim’s “Send in the Clowns,” affectionately rendered with grace and care. On 2 in Love, Benoit couldn’t have chosen a more desirable collaborator than Monheit. Her openness to the range of material he offers in beautifully crafted songs is matched only by her command of their languages. ~~ AllMusic Review by Thom Jurek

1 Barcelona Nights 03:27
2 This Dance 04:30
3 Too In Love 05:17
4 Dragonfly 02:56
5 Love Will Light The Way 03:29
6 Love In Hyde Park 03:17
7 The Songs We Sang 03:47
8 Fly Away 04:54
9 Something’s Gotta Give 04:02
10 Love Theme From Candide/Send In The Clowns 03:42

David Benoit – Keyboards, Piano, Synthesizer
Jane Monheit – Vocals
Cathy Biagini – Cello
Clayton Cameron – Drums
John Clayton – Bass
David Hughes – Bass (Acoustic), Bass (Electric), Bass (Upright)
Pat Kelly – Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric)
Lauren Kosty – Percussion
Michelle Suh – Violin
Jamey Tate – Drums
Tim Weisberg – Flute (Alto)



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?