Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis – Very Saxy (1959/2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis – Very Saxy (1959/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 38:47 minutes | 493 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital booklet | © Prestige Records
Recorded: April 29, 1959 at Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ
Remastered: 2007, Rudy Van Gelder at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ

When four veterans like Coleman Hawkins, Buddy Tate, Eddie Davis, and Arnett Cobb get together, no longer young bucks that have to prove themselves, they still like to assert their musical masculinity. It is like four old friends in their shirtsleeves or T-shirts, having an old fashioned bull session over beer and pretzels or an equivalent. There is talk of old times, back-slapping, head-shaking, low humor and high hilarity. Troubles of the present are forgotten temporarily as old bonds are reweaved.

The supporting cast for the tenormen is a solid one. Organist Shirley Scott is one of the real solid swingers. Edgehill and Duvivier form one of the most complementary rhythm sections around; their work on The Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis Cookbook and the two Shirley Scott trio LPs were proof enough of that. George, in addition, has penned some simple but effective lines for the boys to get off on. Two are in collaboration with “Lock” while one is on his own. Scottie also has one written contribution while the fifth number salutes the late President, Lester Young, with his own composition. This is no cutting contest. It is four tenormen showing each other (and their audience) what they can do; four wild horses let out of the corral really kicking up heir heels.
Tenor saxophonist Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis and his quartet (which includes organist Shirley Scott, bassist George Duvivier and drummer Arthur Edgehill) welcome three immortal tenors (Coleman Hawkins, Arnett Cobb and Buddy Tate) to what became a historic and hard-swinging jam session. On three blues, an original based on the chord changes of “Sweet Georgia Brown” and “Lester Leaps In,” the four tenors battle it out and the results are quite exciting. The spirited music on this memorable LP will hopefully be reissued on CD eventually, for the performances live up to their great potential. -AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

1. Very Saxy 08:19
2. Lester Leaps In 06:16
3. Fourmost 05:23
4. Foot Pattin’ 08:53
5. Light And Lovely 09:56

Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis, Buddy Tate, Coleman Hawkins, Arnett Cobb, tenor saxophone
Shirley Scott, organ
George Duvivier, bass
Arthur Edgehill, drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?