Frank Sinatra – A Jolly Christmas From Frank Sinatra (1957/2014) [AcousticSounds DSF Mono DSD64/2.82MHz]

Frank Sinatra – A Jolly Christmas From Frank Sinatra (1957/2014) 
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,8 MHz | Time – 32:26 minutes | 1,29 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: AcousticSounds | © Capitol Records

This seasonal collection of Yule tide classics sung by Frank Sinatra in his late-1950s incarnation, with impeccable string arrangements by Nelson Riddle, contains convincing performances of favorites like ‘O Little Town of Bethlehem,’ ‘Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,’ and ‘I’ll Be Home for Christmas.’
It’s a tribute to Sinatra’s versatility and professionalism that this oft-sung set comes off sounding simultaneously fresh, original, and heartwarming. Includes liner notes by Pete Welding.

It can be argued that Sinatra never sounded fully comfortable singing Christmas carols, and this record is no exception. While his other albums of the period are bursting with dash and sensitivity, this is a distant, even slightly lackadaisical performance. It’s no dud on its own, but compared to the classic Christmas records of other artists, and especially to Sinatra’s best work, it is unusually somber. Gordon Jenkins’ adventurous arrangements are occasionally intrusive, but the album has touches of magic during “The Christmas Waltz” and “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear.” —Jim Smith

Released in 1957, the same year as Elvis Presley’s hit Christmas album, Sinatra’s first Christmas record is like a conservative op-ed in response to the King’s subtly radical bumrush. It’s the essence of Eisenhower’s America, bottled and giftwrapped with a red and white bow on top. This was the fourth album Sinatra recorded in a very good year, and he sings like he has the universe effortlessly balanced on the brim of his hat. At times the arrangements and back-up singing get in the way. But when he taps the nostalgic tug of ‘I’ll Be Home For Christmas’ and ‘Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas,” it’s mistletoe magic. —Rolling Stone

1. Jingle Bells 01:59
2. The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You) 03:27
3. Mistletoe And Holly 02:16
4. I’ll Be Home For Christmas (If Only In My Dreams) 03:09
5. The Christmas Waltz 03:01
6. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas 03:25
7. The First Noel 02:41
8. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing 02:21
9. O Little Town Of Bethlehem 02:04
10. Adeste Fideles 02:31
11. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear 02:48
12. Silent Night 02:25

Frank Sinatra, vocals
The Ralph Brewer Singers, background vocals
Gordon Jenkins, arranger, conductor

Recorded: May 1-July 10, 1957 at Capitol Studio A, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA
DSD files were created from the 192/24 HD digital transfer of the original analog master



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?