Gustav Brom with Orchester Gustav Brom – Gustav Brom Goes Pop (1970/2016) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Gustav Brom with Orchester Gustav Brom – Gustav Brom Goes Pop (1970/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88.2 kHz  | Time – 35:41 minutes | 696 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © MPS Classical

Czechian Gustav Brom led one of the foremost European big bands of the 1960’s. During this period it was rated among the top ten big bands in the world. They played festivals and concerts throughout Europe, India and Cuba, with such international stars as Dizzy Gillespie, Ray Conniff, and Maynard Ferguson appearing as guest artists. The album rates more as easily accessible jazz than pop. With hip modern arrangements and outstanding solos, this 1970 release is proof positive that jazz had invaded the Iron Curtain and won. The rock-oriented Tell it Like it Is bursts forth with revelatory organ and trumpet solos. There’s a smooth trombone solo on Abendspaziergang, and Silbener Kerze features Josef Blaha’s sterling trumpet in the lead. The Latin-tinged Tortilla Flat, and the stately pageant-like Le Grand Roi are followed by the Austrian tango Schöner Gigolo – the standard “Just a Gigolo” to the English-speaking world. A jazzed-up version of the Beatle’s Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da precedes the swinging jazz waltz Happy Moments. Lady Carneval pulsates with a festive atmosphere, and For Sale ends the album on an upbeat note. This Czech band can stand on its own with any of the Western big bands of the period; it swings and the soloists are top-flight. For those who love great big band music, this is an album well worth having.

01 – Tell It Like It Is
02 – Schöner Gigolo (Just A Gigolo)
03 – Abendspaziergang
04 – Silberne Kerze
05 – Tortilla Flat
06 – Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
07 – Happy Moments
08 – Lady Carneval
09 – Le Grand Roi
10 – For Sale

Produced by MPS Records, Villingen, Germany.

Gustav Brom Orchester:
Gustav Brom – bandleader
Josef Blaha – organ, piano
Josef Audes – baritone saxophone
Zdeněk Novák – tenor saxophone
Mojmír Bártek – trombone
Jaromír Hnilička – trumpet



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?