Helen Carr – Why Do I Love You (1955/2014) [PrestoClassical FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Helen Carr – Why Do I Love You (1955/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 31:37 minutes | 498 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: PrestoClassical | Digital Booklet | © Bethlehem Records

Helen Carr only recorded two albums during her short-lived career; both were acclaimed and influential. This 1955 session was the second and last album from Carr who died in a car crash when she was only 36. Why Do I Love You was recorded with no piano or drums, featuring studio musicians Cappy Lewis on trumpet, guitarist Howard Roberts and bassist Red Mitchell.

The title Why Do I Love You speaks volumes about the emotional context of Helen Carr’s approach – equal parts heartbreak, frustration, and resignation, her tough but tender vocals capture the dark side of romance at its most affecting. This Bethlehem session features backing from the likes of Red Mitchell, Howard Roberts, and Cappy Lewis, and their nuanced contributions further underscore the intimacy of Carr’s performance. The song selection is also excellent, forgoing overworked standards in favor of more apropos material like “Lonely Street,” “My Kind of Trouble Is You,” and “Then You’ve Never Been Blue.”

01 – Be Careful, It’s My Heart
02 – My Kind of Trouble Is You: My Kind Of Trouble Is You
03 – Lonely Street
04 – Symphony
05 – You’re Getting to Be a Habit With Me: You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me
06 – Bye Bye Baby
07 – Then You’ve Never Been Blue
08 – Summer Night
09 – Got A Date With An Angel
10 – Why Do I Love You?
11 – Do I Worry?
12 – I’ve Got A Feelin’ You’re Foolin’

Remastered in 2014.

Helen Carr – vocals
Cappy Lewis – trumpet
Howard Roberts – guitar
Red Mitchell – acoustic bass



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?