Hoff Ensemble – Polarity: An Acoustic Jazz Project (2018) [FLAC 24bit/352,8kHz]

Hoff Ensemble – POLARITY: an acoustic jazz project (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/352,8 kHz | Time – 58:40 minutes | 3,63 GB
or FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 58:40 minutes | 932 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: klicktrack.com | Artwork: Digital booklet | © 2L, Lindberg Lyd

Jan Gunnar Hoff launches his new jazz trio with Anders Jormin and Audun Kleive, two of Europe’s most reknown and respected jazz performers. A powerful trio setting presenting strong melodic compositions and high class interplay. Their new album Polarity (HOFF ENSEMBLE), is due for release…

Polarity is an album based on both new and older compositions of mine, recorded in a unique acoustic setting.
“The Elder” was composed in film director Ingmar Bergman’s study on the island of Fårö. The ambience in Bergman’s house and the view of the unending expanse of the Baltic Sea induced in me a sense of melancholy but also an almost ecstatic mood that resulted in what is really a homage to the legendary director. The title track “Polarity” started out as an improvisation which I was working into a finished melody. We supplemented the ensemble’s palette of sounds by introducing an analogue synthesizer that grows in intensity, its sound filling the room with autonomous power. “Justice” is my emotional response to the experience of witnessing officialdom intervene in a family situation and how this affected all involved. “Innocence” and “Within” both have their take-off point in acutely vulnerable emotional conditions, where to show weakness can be experienced as a sign of strength. “Sacred” is based on a simple major and minor tonality, with the synthesizer and the coll’arco bass line central elements. The character of “Euphoria” is elated – the spontaneous improvisation between the piano and drums driving the melody to a no-holds-barred level of energy. “Beginning”, with its minimalistic calm, is in marked contrast; dark melancholy and gloom find release in a spirit of reconciliation. “Pathway” is a set of variations on a series of chords; the variations unfold with the piano and double bass taking on different roles as the piece develops. “Home” was originally composed as a backdrop to Knut Hamsun’s poem “I ungdommens vår” (In the Spring of Youth) but has been fleshed out to a trio ballad. The idea to work on a project for a trio came to me a few years ago, but it is only recently that the idea has really begun to take form. The choice of musicians was not difficult, with Audun Kleive and Anders Jormin both having long track records on the Scandinavian jazz scene, and both still eager to explore and energize the established trio format. This is the first time the three of us have made a recording like this together, vacating the usual studio setting in favour of the acoustics of a church. My main goal is to create a specific identity for each album and to make the music come alive.
– Jan Gunnar Hoff

01 – Innocence
02 – Revamp
03 – The Elder
04 – Polarity
05 – Beginning
06 – Justice
07 – Moving
08 – Euphoria
09 – Within
10 – Sacred
11 – Pathway
12 – Home

Recorded in September 2017 at Sofienberg Church, Norway.
Produced, Engineered, Edited, Mixed & Mastered Morten Lindberg.

Jan Gunnar Hoff – piano
Anders Jormin – bass
Audun Kleive – drums

Produced in DXD (Digital eXtreme Definition 352kHz/24bit) by Lindberg Lyd.

FLAC 24-352,8


FLAC 24-96


We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?