Holly Cole – Holly Cole (2007/2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Holly Cole – Holly Cole (2007/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 43:24 minutes | 770 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | @ 2xHD

Holly Cole’s eponymous album was first released in 2007 and features the singer accompanied by a variety of small bands, mostly with brass and reeds played by many of New York’s top session players. Several arrangers supplied their talents for the album, including Gil Goldstein, Marty Ehrlich, and even Holly Cole herself.

Holly Cole has always been a difficult vocalist to categorize because of her eclectic taste in music. But this self-titled CD, first issued by Alert in 2007 and reissued in early 2008 by Koch, finds her accompanied by various configurations of small bands, mostly with brass and reeds supplied by a number of top New York session players, with a host of arrangers involved, including Cole herself, pianist Gil Goldstein, saxophonist Marty Ehrlich, and other musicians who took part in the sessions. “The House Is Haunted by the Echo of Your Last Goodbye” is an overlooked gem in which Cole adds the slightest touch of humor to lessen its melancholy air. The brisk setting of Henry Mancini’s normally easygoing “Charade” suggests the hustle and bustle of a love affair in an urban setting, while the breezy dash through “It’s Alright with Me” is just as much fun. Her slinky treatment of the old novelty piece “Alley Cat Song” (usually heard as a honky tonk piano instrumental) could revive interest in its possibilities. Only one piece falls short, her droning take of Jobim’s “Waters of March,” featuring members of her old band (pianist Aaron Davis, bassist David Piltch, and guitarist Kevin Breit, the latter adding loops as well), where she fails to vary her approach enough to capture the subtlety within this demanding song. But this CD is easily one of her best overall record dates.

01 – Waters Of March
02 – Alley Cat Song
03 – Larger Than Life
04 – Be Careful, It’s My Heart
05 – It’s Alright With Me
06 – You’re My Thrill
07 – Life Is Just A Bowl Of Cherries
08 – Reaching For The Moon
09 – I Will Wait For You
10 – Charade
11 – The House Is Haunted By The Echo Of Your Last Goodbye

Produced by Greg Cohen and Holly Cole

Tracks 2, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11 arranged by Gil Goldstein with additional arranging by Holly Cole
Track 5 arranged by Marty Ehrlich with additional arranging by Holly Cole
Track 1 arranged by Holly Cole, Aaron Davis, David Piltch and Kevin Breit
Track 3 arranged by Holly Cole, Greg Cohen, Gil Goldstein, Steven Wolf, and Marty Ehrlich
Track 4 arranged by Holly Cole and Aaron Davis
Track 7 arranged by Holly Cole, Greg Cohen, Matt Munisteri, John Allred and Lenny Pickett

Recorded at Brooklyn Recording, New York and Phase One Studios, Toronto, Ontario
Engineered by George Seara and Andy Taub

Additional recording at Rumpas Room, Toronto, Ontario
Engineered by Dylan Heming
Assistant Engineers: Taylor Dow, Yohei Goto and Greg Kolchinsky

Mixed by George Seara at Phase One Studios

Holly Cole uses Sennheiser and Neumann microphones exclusively.



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?