Houston Person & Ron Carter – Remember Love (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Houston Person & Ron Carter – Remember Love (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 52:41 minutes | 463 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © HighNote Records

Over twenty-five years ago, this duo began their first collaboration with an album entitled ‘Something In Common’. Six releases later they remain committed to the format. In this session of standards, the tunes have been culled from the American Songbook with the intention of providing unabashed look at life, love, youth and beauty.

Houston Person’s tenor tone is smooth, warm and easy-going, and the duo format brings out his romantic side. Ron Carter, meanwhile, is in complete charge of the music’s harmony and rhythm, well aware of the manifold accompaniment possibilities each tune presents, and able to move seamlessly between an astounding number of those possibilities. So if you want to hear two masters at work, playing off and for each other, this is the place to be.

The natural wear and tear of a couple? Houston Person and Ron Carter wouldn’t know… A quarter of a century after the beginning of their collaboration, the tenor saxophonist and the double bassist (both now in their eighties) continue their beautiful partnership. For Remember Love, they climb up the Everest of the American Songbook; they’re themes that have been played a thousand times by the whole world, yet the warmth of the duo’s interpretation makes them fascinating. Person’s tenor is a summit of gentleness and languor. Carter’s feline double bass scales the steep paths. We find here two wise old men playing with pure musical velvet. It’s no reinvention of the menu of the day, but beautiful all the same… – Marc Zisman

1. Love Is Here to Stay (G. Gershwin / I. Gershwin) 6:57
2. My One and Only Love (R. Mellin / G. Wood) 4:37
3. Why Not (H. Person) 6:10
4. Day Dream (D. Ellington / B. Strayhorn) 4:59
5. Gentle Rain (L. Bonfa) 6:23
6. The Way You Look Tonight (J. Kern / D. Fields) 4:28
7. You Are My Sunshine (J. Davis) 5:43
8. Blues for D.P. (R. Carter). 5:32
9. Easy to Remember (R. Rodgers / L. Hart) 4:47
10. Without a Song (E. Eliscu / B. Rose / V. Youmans) 3:03

PHouston Person (tenor saxophone)
Ron Carter (bass)



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?