Jackiem Joyner – Main Street Beat (2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Jackiem Joyner – Main Street Beat (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 45:43 minutes | 1,0 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Artistry Music

Award-winning saxophonist and multi-instrumentalist Jackiem Joyner celebrates his first decade as a recording artist with Main Street Beat. Joyner became a father after his previous release, 2014’s Evolve, an elation-inducing experience that informed the music he wrote and produced for Main Street Beat. The first single from the funky, Motown-influenced session is the exultant Trinity, named for Joyner’s first child whose presence is given voice on this release by Steve Oliver’s incandescent acoustic guitar.

“Music evolves, including jazz. All types of sound evolve. So do people and our imaginations. That is what I tried to put on tape. Evolve captures the changes in my musical mind and how I have evolved as an artist,” explains award-winning saxophonist and multi-instrumentalist Jackiem Joyner about his fifth album and first collection on which he wrote, produced and arranged all 11 songs.

Juxtaposing invigorating otherworldly sonic-scapes under gentle sax melodies, Evolve is a dynamic, highly rhythmic session that is unpredictable laced with traces of the familiar. Listening will take you to a different place while defining Joyner as a musician and a writer beyond what they’ve already heard from the chart-topping rhythm and groove guy. The imaginative new set has a greater purpose.

“Rather than fitting in with the traditional, I’m bringing the audience along with songs that unfold over different and interesting soundscapes even as I move towards a live organic sound. The songs are very true to me and who I am as an evolving artist. It’s very me and maybe it’s okay to be you sometimes. Jazz audiences want something new and original from me and I think my audience will really appreciate and enjoy Evolve,” says Joyner, who plays most of the instruments on the record along with spotlight duets with two-time Grammy® nominated saxophonist Gerald Albright and keyboardist Keiko Matsui. Joyner’s touring band—guitarist Kayta Matsuno, bassist Tim Bailey, keyboardist Bill Steinway and drummer Raymond Johnson—collaborates on a few cuts.

Joyner gets straight to the point with the adventurous opener, “Generation Next.” An urban-pop track with vibrant strings provides a contrasting backdrop for Joyner’s melodic sax play. “It makes for an interesting combination. ‘Generation Next’ is a declaration that the next generation of jazz musicians is here to stay.”

A live drum feel and prominent thumping slap bass line make “Europa” a hip mid-tempo urban trip worth taking. Joyner’s soprano sax tone is soft as are the evocative etchings emoted by Matsui’s keyboard. “I wrote ‘Europa’ with Keiko in mind. The song follows a very structured pattern—organic R&B actually. It’s a new vibe for her sound,” shares Joyner, who often tours as a member of Matsui’s band when not playing his own dates.

Simultaneous bass tracks run throughout the aptly titled “Double Bass”—one played by Bailey and the other programmed by Joyner—digging a complex bass and drum groove. Upfront, Joyner plays layers of meandering sax forming an untraditional harmony that feels improvisational.

Tracked live in the studio with the full band, Joyner says “Breathe” isn’t easy to play. “There’s a lot of emotion in my playing, and the alto sax parts are technical and very emotional. I composed the song in my head for months, but in the studio the track really opened up. It’s very unpredictable.” Trombonist Paul Nowell and trumpeter iLya Serov join Joyner on the horn section parts, adding majestic qualities to the sweeping melody that simmers on slow cook before erupting into a cascading crescendo.

An uplifting space …

01 – Main Street
02 – Back to Motown
03 – Can’t Stop the Feeling
04 – Trinity
05 – When You Smile
06 – Southside Boulevard
07 – That Good Thing
08 – Treasure
09 – Addicted
10 – Don’t Make Her Wait
11 – Get Down Street

Track “10” is 48 kHz/24-bit PCM recording, mastered in 96 kHz/24-bit .



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?