Janet Feder – Songs With Words (2012) {SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz}

Janet Feder – Songs With Words (2012)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 & DST64 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 44:13 minutes | Scans | 3,8 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 44:19 mins | Scans included | 754 MB
Features Stereo & Multichannel Surround sound | Genre: Folk, Country, World

A native of Boulder, Colorado Janet Feder is most widely known for pioneering composition for prepared guitar. She has been featured on numerous recordings, radio programs, and film scores. Deeply layered, textured and intimate, “Songs With Words”, features Janet Feder’s prepared guitar compositions accompanying her voice.

Innovative guitarist Janet Feder draws her own sonic territory on this first collection of original songs. The Colorado-based guitarist is known for her extended techniques on the prepared guitar, and her work was first introduced to the wider public on the like-minded collection of innovative guitarists I Never Meta Guitar—Solo Guitars for the XXI Century) (Clean Feed, 2010). Prior to that, she recorded with close conspirators such as Fred Frith on Ironic Universe.
Songs with Words was a project initiated by producer Joe Shepard, who encouraged Feder to use his studio. At first, she envisioned writing songs for others to sing, but since Shepard wanted to record within two weeks, Feder ended up singing the songs herself and playing all the guitar parts. Her usage of small metal objects that alter the sound of the acoustic guitar strings enable her to explore new tunings and an expanded sonic palette. Her singing is innocent and unassuming, focused on the topics of the songs, most of them inspired by the political, anti-war folk songs of the sixties. But unlike other folk songs, Feder’s guitar playing and vocal delivery are not rooted in any familiar folk tradition.
All the songs were recorded live, without any digital effects; just Feder, her guitar—surrounded by 15 microphones—and occasional guests. The songs have a clear structure: strong melodic themes, verses and choruses, but they still all sound mysterious, demanding repeated listening before allowing themselves to be deciphered fully. She recited her pleas for a more compassionate world in a reserved, fragile voice, even when she wishes that “soldiers will refuse to fight” on “My Blackest Crow.” Her range sounds clearer on the instrumental “A Thousand Million Petty Tyrants.” Her cover of Bob Dylan’s “Blowin’ In The Wind” sounds as if she already knows that its call for action is not enough. The somber, melancholic beauty of the personal “Plan to Live” brings to mind the songs of Nick Drake. “Ocean Wall” is a silent sonic poem that imagines a peaceful scenery. Songs with Words is a unique, haunting gem.

01. Heater
02. Your Country Is Like A Wall
03. My Blackest Crow
04. A Thousand Million Petty Tyrants
05. Blowin’ In The Wind
06. O The Sky Falling Moment
07. Plan To Live
08. White Men Landing
09. Trees Are Burning
10. Janet Feder – Songs With Words
11. Ocean Wall

Pure DSD. Recorded at Immersive Studios, Boulder Colorado, 2010, 32 channel Sonoma DSD Workstation.
Recorded, mixed and mastered by Mike Yach. SACD authoring Gus Skinas, Super Audio Centre.



FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz


We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?