Jaska Lukkarinen Trio – Origami (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Jaska Lukkarinen Trio – Origami (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 39:29 minutes | 481 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz  | Front Cover | © We Jazz

Jaska Lukkarinen Trio is one of the most creative working groups in the vibrant Finnish jazz scene. Consisting of drummer Jaska Lukkarinen, tenor sax man Jussi Kannaste, and bassist Antti Lötjönen, the members of this long-standing group have experience in celebrated ensembles such as The Five Corners Quintet, Dalindèo, and Verneri Pohjola Quartet, and it’s only fitting that they’re taking a new look at the music of their close collaborator, composer Valtteri Laurell Pöyhönen (of Dalindèo and Ricky-Tick Big Band) here. The 4-track set was recorded at Helsinki’s We Jazz Festival where the group performed at the packed club space Dubrovnik (owned by the famed Finnish film auteur Aki Kaurismäki).

Recorded at Helsinki’s We Jazz Festival, the new LP “Origami” by the Jaska Lukkarinen Trio offer a solid glimpse of the remarkable creative power of one of the best working groups in the vibrant Finnish scene. Drummer Jaska Lukkarinen (of Dalindèo), sax man Jussi Kannaste and bassist Antti Lötjönen (of The Five Corners Quintet) play jazz which relies on the strong dynamic of the group. They swing at times, turn inwards for some deep meditative passaged on occasion, and find their own personal way within the music. Think pianoless small groups in the vein of some of Jimmy Giuffre’s best work, for example, and you’re in the right mindset.

On this LP, the Jaska Lukkarinen Trio capture the essence of their music and the innovation in the moment which is at the very core of all great jazz music. They tackle the music of a close collaborator Valtteri Laurell Pöyhönen (of Dalindèo and Ricky-Tick Big band), and deliver a which set brimming with fresh musical ideas, and this music has appeal well outside of the hard core jazz crowd. This music is approachable yet deep with layers at the same time. Recorded on analogue equipment, the set echoes a the classic sonic palette of live jazz recordings, while offering music which looks ahead at all times.

01 – Flow On
02 – Origami
03 – Komeda
04 – Pengerkadulla
05 – Beauty Passing By

Composed by Valtteri Laurell Pöyhönen. Produced by Jaska Lukkarinen & Matti Nives.
Recorded at We Jazz Festival in Helsinki at Dubrovnik Lounge & Lobby on 11 Dec 2015 by Abdissa Assefa.
Mastered by Jaakko Viitalähde at Virtalähde Mastering Additional mastering by Sami Kantelinen at Timmion Cutting Lab.

Jaska Lukkarinen – drums
Jussi Kannaste – saxophone
Antti Lötjönen – bass



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?