Jenny Owen Youngs – Avalanche (2023) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Jenny Owen Youngs - Avalanche (2023) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz] Download

Jenny Owen Youngs – Avalanche (2023)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:40 minutes | 375 MB | Genre: Indie Folk, Indie Rock, Singer-Songwriter, Female Vocal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Yep Roc Records

Written with a series of friends including S. Carey, Madi Diaz, and Christian Lee Hutson and recorded with producer Josh Kaufmann (Bonny Light Horseman, The Hold Steady), Avalanche is an achingly beautiful exploration of loss, resilience, and growth from an artist who’s experienced more than her fair share of each in recent years. The songs are deceptively serene here, layering Owen Youngs’ infectious pop sensibilities atop lush, dreamy arrangements.Although she never really went away, Avalanche represents singer and songwriter Jenny Owen Youngs’ first proper solo album in over a decade. A productive period nonetheless, during that time, she put out no less than five EPs, an instrumental indie folk album (with frequent collaborators John Mark Nelson and Tancred), and worked as a songwriter for hire, co-writing tracks for the likes of Pitbull, Panic! At the Disco, Ingrid Michaelson, and many more. In fact, Avalanche contains several songwriting collaborations, including credits for S. Carey, the Antlers’ Peter Silberman, and Madi Diaz, among others. The full-length format was prompted by big emotions, namely the experience of going through a divorce and then finding love again, events reflected in the album’s mix of regret, self-doubt, and affection. Avalanche’s title track (the Madi Diaz co-write) starts things off in melancholy fashion with 15 seconds of a maudlin piano demo before shifting to a more fully arranged examination of Youngs’ own self-destructive tendencies, with double-tracked vocals that include the line “I get worn out on my favorite cycle/Where I do something dumb and try to survive it.” Later on, the trotting “Everglades” (written with Christian Lee Hutson), a travel song of sorts with shuffling brushed snare, foot-tapping bass guitar and kick drum, and light but animated electric guitar, regrets things that were said on both sides (again with seemingly thematic double-tracked vocals). Even one of the album’s most musically uplifting moments, the full-band, implied-clap-along track “It’s Later Than You Think” (with Peter Silberman), takes the narrator to task for losing track of time (“I mostly don’t know where I’ve been/Or what I thought about”). Meanwhile, the closest thing to a straight-up love song is the spookier, atmospheric “Set It on Fire.” Among the heaviest hitters here are the gentle “Goldenrod,” which regrets not saying goodbye (“I never thought that I’d have to”), and “Bury Me Slowly,” a spare, sometimes shimmery electric-acoustic lament, although all of Avalanche is emotionally raw. The album closes on a wispy piano ballad, “Now Comes the Mystery” (with S. Carey), which isn’t ready to close the door on someone who’s already gone. Throughout Avalanche, Youngs illustrates emotions with actions like feeling in pockets for missing keys and watching events through glass, making for an easily worthwhile return to the form. – Marcy Donelson


01. Jenny Owen Youngs – Avalanche (04:18)
02. Jenny Owen Youngs – Knife Went In (03:39)
03. Jenny Owen Youngs – Goldenrod (04:25)
04. Jenny Owen Youngs – Everglades (03:43)
05. Jenny Owen Youngs – Bury Me Slowly (04:47)
06. Jenny Owen Youngs – Next Time Around (03:09)
07. Jenny Owen Youngs – It’s Later Than You Think (02:40)
08. Jenny Owen Youngs – Salt (04:51)
09. Jenny Owen Youngs – Set It On Fire (03:51)
10. Jenny Owen Youngs – Now Comes the Mystery (03:12)

Download from FileJoker:

We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?