Jerry Garcia & Merl Saunders – GarciaLive Volume Six – July 5, 1973 Lion’s Share, San Anselmo, CA (2016) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Jerry Garcia & Merl Saunders – GarciaLive Volume Six – July 5, 1973 Lion’s Share, San Anselmo, CA (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 02:49:15 minutes | 1,83 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © Round Records
Recorded: July 5, 1973 Lion’s Share, San Anselmo, CA

Volume Six showcases Jerry Garcia and Merl Saunders’ July 5th, 1973 performance at the Lion’s Share in San Anselmo, CA. Recorded by Betty Cantor-Jackson just five days prior to the seminal performances celebrated on the Live at the Keystone series, GarciaLive Volume Six highlights a particularly adventurous evening at the Lion’s Share, a 200 capacity club known for its vibrant music scene which drew regulars like Janis Joplin, Phil Lesh, Van Morrison, and many others. The club’s intimacy can be felt throughout the recordings as the band, rounded out by John Kahn on bass and drummer Bill Vitt, frequently launch into extended improvisations fueled by the exchange of energy with the audience. The blistering “She’s Got Charisma” -> “That’s Alright, Mama”, which clocks in at over 31 minutes long, “starts off innocently in familiar blues territory, but very quickly deconstructs into fragmentation and exploration, defying both gravity and expectation at the same time” as writer Benjy Eisen eloquently describes in the releases’ liner note essay. The presence of an unidentified guest on trumpet during the band’s second set adds to the freedom and looseness found within the performance. The guest trumpeter is felt most during extended takes on “My Funny Valentine” and “Merl’s Tune,” both easy highlights of the entire evening.

1 After Midnight 10:35
2 Someday 9:15
3 She’s Got Charisma 18:41
4 That’s All Right, Mama 13:17
5 The System 18:45
6 The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down 5:59
7 I Second That Emotion 13:30
8 My Funny Valentine 19:17
9 Finders Keepers 9:30
10 Money Honey 8:38
11 Like A Road 9:22
12 Merl’s Tune 16:45
13 Jam 9:52
14 How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) 6:05

Jerry Garcia, guitar, vocals
John Kahn, bass
Merl Saunders, keyboards, vocals
Bill Vitt, drums
mystery guest, trumpet on the second set



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?