Jimmy Greene – Flowers: Beautiful Life, Volume 2 (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Jimmy Greene – Flowers: Beautiful Life, Volume 2 (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:03:38 minutes | 1,38 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Mack Avenue Records

As on his acclaimed Mack Avenue debut, Beautiful Life, a poignant, reflective recording that honored his daughter’s love of singing with a program combining jazz, spirituals, contemporary Christian music and ballads, Greene again fulfills his stated imperative of “reflecting the way that Ana lived”. Here, Greene hones in on Ana’s love of dance with a kinetic, groove-filled program comprising ten original compositions—including two Greene-penned lyrics—and his arrangement of the “new standard”, “Something About You”.

In 2012, saxophonist Jimmy Greene lost his six-year-old daughter Ana Grace Marquez-Greene when she was murdered alongside 20 of her schoolmates during the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut. Poignantly, he paid tribute to Ana on his soulful 2014 album Beautiful Life. For 2017’s buoyant follow-up, Flowers: Beautiful Life, Vol. 2, Greene continues to draw inspiration from his daughter’s short life, this time exploring her love of dance. Joining Greene here is a stellar lineup featuring pianist Renee Rosnes, bassists John Patitucci and Ben Williams, drummers Otis Brown III and Jeff “Tain” Watts, guitarist Mike Moreno, percussionist Rogerio Boccato, and guest vocalists Jean Baylor and Sheena Rattai. If the first Beautiful Life found Greene in an understandably grief-stricken and deeply poetic state of mind, Flowers reveals a man who will never fully let go of his pain, but who is much more connected to the memory of his daughter’s vitality and love of life than the tragedy of her death. This vitality is reflected in the animated grooves and lively melodies Greene brings to Flowers. There’s also an experimental vibe here, with Greene bending his largely acoustic post-bop sound a bit more heavily toward fusion, as on the knotty groover “Fun Circuits.” Similarly, “Stink Thumb,” with its spacy Rhodes keyboard, brings to mind the ’70s jazz of Herbie Hancock’s Mwandishi band. Even the far-eyed, soprano saxophone feature “Something About You” explodes mid-song into a choppy, angular improvisation. Still, there is a bittersweet tinge to the proceedings reflected in the languid, Latin flow of “Amantes” and the yearning vocal ballad “Someday.” Remarkably, on Flowers: Beautiful Life, Vol. 2, Greene remains a productive, positive-minded artist whose music, and memory, have only deepened in their harmonic, rhythmic, and spiritual grace.

01 – Big Guy
02 – Stanky Leg
03 – Flowers
04 – Second Breakfast
05 – Fun Circuits
06 – Stink Thumb
07 – Someday
08 – December
09 – Amantes
10 – Something About You
11 – Thirty-Two



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?