Johnny Hodges – Johnny Hodges featuring Ben Webster (2018) [AcousticSounds DSF DSD128/5.64MHz + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Johnny Hodges – Johnny Hodges featuring Ben Webster (2018) 
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/5,6 MHz | Time – 40:03 minutes | 3,16 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 40:03 minutes | 722 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: AcousticSounds | Booklet, Front Cover | Genre: Jazz | ©2xHD

The superb November 1960 session recorded by the Ben Webster-Johnny Hodges sextet in studio conditions at the Jazz Cellar, in San Francisco (without an audience). It is presented here in its complete form for the first time ever. These recordings are exceptional in that no other date exists in their collaborative discography featuring them as the only horns. The two great saxophonists were the only horn players heard at the session. They were backed by a rhythm section of piano, guitar, bass and drums. As bonus, to this new DSD release has added a complete (and very rare) octet session featuring Johnny Hodges and His Orchestra from August 27, 1964.

Ben Webster and Johnny Hodges had already known each other for over 25 years by the time they recorded the present date together at The Jazz Cellar in San Francisco. The two sax giants recorded their first sides together as members of the illustrious Duke Ellington orchestra on August 19, 1935.

One of the most influential saxophone players in the history of jazz, Johnny Hodges teamed up with Ben Webster in the 1960s to produce this album. After leaving Duke Ellington’s band in the early 1950s, Hodges decided to record his own virtuosic compositions with his own jazz combo.

01 – Cambridge Blue
02 – Brute’s Roots
03 – Bouncing with Ben
04 – One for the Duke
05 – Walkin’ the Frog
06 – Rabbit Pie
07 – Jeep’s Blues
08 – Dooji Wooji
09 – The Jeep Is Jumpin’

Tracks 1-6:
Recorded at The Jazz Cellar, San Francisco – November 22 1960
Johnny Hodges – alto saxophone
Ben Webster – tenor saxophone
Lou Levy – piano
Herb Ellis – guitar
Wilfred Middlebrooks – bass
Gus Johnson – drums

Tracks 7-9:
Recorded on August 27, 1964
Johnny Hodges – alto saxophone
Russell Procope – alto sax, clarinet
Cat Anderson – trumpet
Paul Gonsalves – trumpets
Lawrence Brown – trombone
Victor Feldman – piano
George Catlett – bass
Sam Woodyard – drums
2xHD Mastering: René Laflamme
2xHD Executive Producer: André Perry

DSF DSD128/5.64MHz


FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz


We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?