Jonian Kadesha & Nicholas Rimmer – Enescu, Ravel & Skalkottas: Violin & Piano (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Jonian Kadesha & Nicholas Rimmer – Enescu, Ravel & Skalkottas: Violin & Piano (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 01:18:04 minutes | 717 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet | © CAvi-music

It would be wrong to classify Nikos Skalkottas as a National Romantic composer. However, only certain works such as the Greek Dances for orchestra or the Two Little Suites for violin and piano have kept his name from falling into oblivion. The Two Little Suites reflect a shift in his last creative years: while maintaining typically strict structural control, Skalkottas was nevertheless evolving toward a less complex style……

George Enescu was Romania’s true musical ambassador. He belonged to the first generation of composers born in the relatively young Kingdom of Romania, but left his native land as a seven-year-old child prodigy to study in Vienna, then in Paris: from then on, he led a cosmopolitan life. He would soon become a world-famed celebrity: first as a violinist, soon also as a composer, pianist and conductor. Yehudi Menuhin, his most renowned pupil, referred to Enescu as the most extraordinary human being he ever encountered. Several recordings of Enescu playing the violin have been preserved, including his own Third Violin Sonata with Dinu Lipatti, his godchild, as a sensitive accompanist on the piano……

Begun before the Tzigane but only completed thereafter, the Violin Sonata in G Major was dedicated by Ravel to the above-mentioned Hélène Jourdan-Morhange, a violinist who was both his friend and advisor. In the meantime she had contracted rheumatism in her fingers and could no longer play the sonata in public. None other than George Enescu stepped in to ensure the work’s resounding success in its world première with Ravel at the piano. (Excerpts from the line notes by Johannes Jansen)


George Ensecu (1881 – 1955)
Sonata for Violin and Piano in A Minor No. 3, Op. 25
1 I. Modearto malinconico 09:49
2 II. Andante sostenuto e misterioso 09:28
3 III. Allegro con brio, ma non troppo mosso 08:26

Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937)
Sonata for Violin and Piano in G Major, M. 77
4 I. Allegretto 08:01
5 II. Blues. Moderato 05:26
6 III. Perpetuum mobile. Allegro 03:58

Nikos Skalkottas (1904 – 1949)
Little Suite No. 1, AK 51
7 No. 1 Dance – Prelude. Allegro marcato e ben ritmato 03:21
8 No. 2 Folk Song. Andante moderato 03:28
9 No. 3 Like a peasant dance. Allegro vivo 04:02
10 Little Suite No. 2, AK 52: No. 1 Poco lento 03:41
11 Little Suite No. 2, AK 52: No. 2 Andante 06:10
12 Little Suite No. 2, AK 52: No. 3 Allegro vivace 02:22

Maurice Ravel
13Tzigane, Rhapsodie de concert for Violin and Piano, M. 76 09:46

Jonian-Ilias Kadesha, violin
Nicholas Rimmer, piano



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?