Justin Taylor – La Famille Forqueray: Portrait(s) (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Justin Taylor – La Famille Forqueray: Portrait(s) (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:19:06 minutes | 1,6 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha

Justin Taylor, the winner of the 2015 edition of the celebrated harpsichord competition of the Musica Antiqua Festival in Bruges (which has honoured some of the world’s finest players, including Scott Ross, Christophe Rousset, Pierre Hantaï, Benjamin Alard, and more recently Jean Rondeau), has recorded for Alpha Classics a programme of music by the Forqueray family: Antoine, Michel, Jean-Baptiste, Nicolas-Gilles . . . Those are just some of the first names of a great dynasty of French composers, gambists and organists. Antoine Forqueray, born in 1672, obtained the highly coveted position of Musicien de la Chambre du Roi. He subsequently had, shall we say, a complicated relationship with his son Jean-Baptiste, born in 1699 . . . Envious of the boy’s talent for the viol, Antoine had him imprisoned when he was just sixteen years old! The recital, as well as painting a musical portrait of this unique family, also offers a chance to reflect on the issue of transcription. In fact, the suites performed here on the harpsichord were originally written for viola da gamba. The passage from one instrument to another, from one soundworld to another, sheds new light on the music and allows us to grasp its full originality.


Antoine Forqueray (1699-1782)
1 Prelude non mesure en Re Mineur 01:16

Jean-Baptiste Forqueray (1699-1782)
Premiere suite en Re Mineur
2 Allemande La Laborde 05:01
Premiere suite en Re Mineur
3 La Forqueray 03:16
4 La Cottin 03:53
5 La Bellmont 03:17
6 La Portugaise 03:15
7 La Couperin 04:39

François Couperin (1668-1733)
Troisième livre de pièces de clavecin, Ordre XVII
8 La superbe ou la Forqueray 05:12

Antoine Forqueray
Suite pour trois violes
9 I. Allemande (Transcribed for Solo Harpsichord by Justin Taylor) 04:31
10 II. Courante (Transcribed for Solo Harpsichord by Justin Taylor) 02:32
11 III. Sarabande (Transcribed for Solo Harpsichord by Justin Taylor) 03:55

Jacques Duphly (1715-1789)
Troisieme livre de pieces de clavecin
12 La Forqueray 04:48

Jean-Baptiste Forqueray
Cinquieme suite en Do Mineur
13 La Rameau 04:46
14 La Guignon 04:00
15 La Leon (Sarabande) 04:32
16 La Boisson 03:56
17 La Montigni 05:36
18 La Sylva 05:43
19 Jupiter 04:58

Justin Taylor, harpsichord



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?