Keith Jarrett – Budapest Concert (Live) (2020) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Keith Jarrett – Budapest Concert (Live) (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:27:33 minutes | 808 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © ECM

The second complete show to be issued from Keith Jarrett’s 2016 European tour – following on from the widely-acclaimed concert released as Munich 2016 – this double album documents the pianist’s solo performance at the Béla Bartók National Concert Hall in Budapest. Jarrett, whose family roots reach back to Hungary, viewed the Budapest concert as akin to a homecoming, and the context inspired much creative improvisation. Where Jarrett’s early solo concerts shaped a large arc of music over the course of an evening, the later concerts have generated suite-like structures, comprised of independent “movements”, each of them a marvel of spontaneous resourcefulness. Creative energy is applied also to familiar songs given as encores, “It’s A Lonesome Old Town” and “Answer Me”, transformed in the Budapest concert.

On the 21st October, 2020, nine days before the release of Budapest Concert, Keith Jarrett revealed to the New York Times that he had fallen victim to two strokes in February and May of 2018. These unfortunately left him partially paralysed. “The most I’m expected to recover in my left hand is possibly the ability to hold a cup in it” lamented the 75-year-old pianist, who will likely never be able to perform again. In his vast discography there are many live recordings. For Jarrett, the concert recordings hold just as much value as those done in the studio, if not more… On the 3rd July, 2016, the American was alone onstage in the Bela Bartok concert hall in Budapest. As is often the case for Jarrett, the material he plays here has no title and is instead divided into parts, here numbered from 1 to 12, just like on his Munich 2016 album which was released in November 2019 and recorded on the 16th of July 2016, a few days after his Budapest performance. For a Bartók fanatic like Jarrett, who on his mother’s side is himself a great-grandson of Hungarian emigrants, this performance has a special flavour to it. Unsurprisingly, Jarrett’s improvisational prowess is on show here, as well as his ability to make his piano swing like his elders and improvise in rhythmically and harmonically complex phrases with ease. A tsunami of notes (the middle of Part III draws from his 1977 Survivors’ Suite) precedes a blues theme that has been reworked from scratch. A folkloric standard replaces an overtly classical construction. And so on and so forth. The parts don’t really communicate with each other but Keith Jarret’s ever fascinating style keeps the listener engaged with his sporadic stylistic decisions. As in Munich, this fusion creation closes with the standards It’s a Lonesome Old Town, popularised by Sinatra, and Answer Me, popularised by Nat King Cole. This is his way of reminding us where his heritage lies, even if it has been audaciously turned upside down here… An astounding new journey from Jarrett. – Marc Zisman


1. Keith Jarrett – Part I
2. Keith Jarrett – Part II
3. Keith Jarrett – Part III
4. Keith Jarrett – Part IV
5. Keith Jarrett – Part V
6. Keith Jarrett – Part VI
7. Keith Jarrett – Part VII
8. Keith Jarrett – Part VIII
9. Keith Jarrett – Part IX
10. Keith Jarrett – Part X
11. Keith Jarrett – Part XI
12. Keith Jarrett – Part XII – Blues
13. Keith Jarrett – It’s A Lonesome Old Town
14. Keith Jarrett – Answer Me



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?